We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Need of Upgrades” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Clemente Inn (VRI)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Clemente Inn (VRI) to your Saves list
San Clemente Inn (VRI)
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Avenida Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Conway, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“In Need of Upgrades”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I found the rooms to be dark and a little damp. The bed in this room was a murphy, kind of weird.
Suite style room. Best part of staying here was that it was in waking distance to the OC Tavern.
A couple of shady people lurking around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    32
    14
    15
See reviews for
81
38
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a week here and found the staff friendly and helpful. As you will read in other reviews, the property is older. We are a family of four and had the largest room (one bedroom) the property offers - a single bedroom, two Murphy beds for the kids, and one and a half baths (the kids had their own bath with sink, but we all shared the one shower in the master bath.) However, we found the rooms spacious enough that we left the Murphy beds down the entire length of our stay and had plenty of room left over to eat and use the living area.

Very convenient location right off the freeway and about a 30 minute drive to Disneyland (and on California freeways, that's GOOD travel time!) Went up to Hollywood one day and enjoyed a number of attractions in that area. A short drive down to the beach where we saw some spectacular sunsets.

Room Tip: Get the largest room possible if you are able for a more enjoyable experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, CA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a great first impression at our check in. She was very courteous, welcoming and informative. The grounds are pretty and well maintained. The furniture is a bit dated but was clean and comfortable. It is an older property and smells musty. We got a room that looked out at the grassy, garden area and it was quiet and pretty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had planned to go to Virginia Beach but changed plans when we heard of a hurricane coming, Southern Cal. Seemed like a good alternative and we were quite pleased.

At this hotel (a timeshare property), you should not expect ultra modern. I understand it was constructed as a hotel during the Nixon presidency when it was needed to house the entourage that followed Nixon when the "Western White House" was occupied. It still shows remnants of the 60's construction. This did not bother us. Kithen cabinets abd all fixtures and appliances have been updated. We stayed in a one bedroom unit for a very reasonable price(off season)". The layout was unusual with a very small bedroom but plenty of closet space. We had a third floor unit with a distant ocean view and a view of the sunsets. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. The grounds and common areas are well maintained. I had no problems with the wi-fi which I often do when staying at hotels. There is a nice west facing balcony which could be better furnished. If I return to southern Cal., I will stay here again.

If you stay here, be sure to request the back building overlooking San Clemente State Park (just a green unmaintained conservation area) and request an upper floor with a distant ocean view. You don't want the front building which just looks at the back building.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently spent a week at San Clemente Inn and enjoyed the great weather and proximity to ocean, restaurants and nearness to both LA and SD.

Problem was the unit seemed dark, worn and tired. Furniture and carpet were needed cleaning badly. Grounds are next to SC State Park and walking distance to beach which save it from being a total loss.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This place is just awful..........the beds are old and the platforms that they are on are filthy...the so called renovation is a joke....the lobby has a peculiar odor and seems to be the only place they care about besides the landscaping. The rooms are somewhat "surface clean" and this is not a family friendly place seems like they are steering it towards seniors only....Kids can't even play pool even with an adult attending....must be 18! Pool closes at 10pm and the place literally shuts down, it is right next to the freeway and nothing else. Nothing in walking distance, too far to walk down town....The blankets on the beds are stained and have holes in them so bring your own. The matresses are awful, like sleeping on an ironing board. The only good thing about this place is when you check out! Do they really think more paint and some new knobs on the cabinets and a few cheap appliances cut it?? I understand this is also a time share, I feel sorry for the people who own there...I understand the fees they pay are quite high and for what?

Room Tip: Don't! Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We joined some friends at their timeshare unit here. The first thing I noticed was that the staff were having lots of fun with the Halloween decorations in the lobby, which was just terrific in my book!

The grounds were very pretty with lots of green grass and little extra touches like Japanese bridges and a gazebo.

The units were fairly well stocked, clean and comfy. The one we were in was a one bedroom with one and a half baths, but had twin Murphy beds which were extremely comfortable and well appointed with two pillows each and more than enough sheets/blankets. There is closet space galore in this unit to stow things until you need them and a reasonable though not outstanding variety of utensils, glassware, plates etc.

The kitchen is small but contains a full size fridge, microwave and even a dishwasher and a small stove-top with two burners (though no regular oven). There are at least four BBQ grills (charcoal only) with convenient seating on the grounds. But, and this is a BIG but...it MUST be noted what a pain in the rump it was to GET to them. The grills were visible from our room, just a few yards away...but we had to lug all our food and coals and drink coolers down a steep flight of stairs, somehow juggling the room key to access the gate into the pool area (which we then had to parade through with all this stuff), then out the opposite gate, up around the winding path and over a footbridge to finally get to the BBQ area. We actually took the shortcut of dropping things off the second floor balcony to each other to make setting up easier.

BTW, it should be noted that the "second" floor is actually kind of the first floor. If you do not want to go up and down stairs to get to the parking lot, ask for a room on the second floor. You will have to go up and down a flight to get to the pool area, so first floor units are more convenient to that, but to load and unload your car easily, a second floor room is probably preferable.

A few words about the pool and recreation area. The pool itself was nothing short of DELIGHTFUL. It felt like bathwater. There are two Jacuzzis. One is designated "adults only," which I always appreciate. We didn't actually use that spa because there was some sort of weird foam swirling out of it that just didn't look quite right. The other Jacuzzi was just fine for us, nice and hot with rollicking jets, though I would caution that it might be a little deep (3-1/2 feet) and the steps a bit on the tall side for little ones. Pool area also boasts a ping-pong table.

There are two regulation-size pool tables. In other words, if you're used to playing on a normal bar-sized table, you may have the same problems I had. I am short enough that I literally could not make certain shots without climbing bodily up on the table! The pool cues are made of metal, too, which really didn't work for me as they're a different weight than a normal wooden cue. I don't think I've played a worse game of pool in my entire life.

The same area where the pool tables are has a weight room, foosball table and air hockey and ample comfortable seating (sofas, chairs, etc.) I found it a little strange that that area had signs admonishing patrons not to bring food or beverages in--but that's where the vending machines were located!

We arrived after the rest of our party checked in, so I cannot speak to the bizarre check-in process described by other reviewers. If what was discussed in the other reviews is the case, however, I would find that EXTREMELY annoying and it would be a deterrent to me to stay here. Our interactions with staff here were nothing but pleasant.

The other thing to note is that this resort is very close to San Clemente State Beach. It's $15 to get a day pass ($14 for seniors). Evidently, if you drive down a little further, Calafia Beach is much more easily accessible (the hike down to SCSB is really not for the feint of heart or leg!) but we didn't know that until it was too late.

One last note: if you need to get gas in San Clemente, go down El Camino Real just past the Ralph's and you will find a United Oil station where it is literally 40 cents per gallon less than at the stations right near the Hwy 5 onramps.

All in all, I would most likely stay here again depending on what rates could be had for somebody that doesn't have a timeshare arrangement.

Room Tip: For loading and unloading your car, choose a second floor room, which requires no stairs to and from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Clemente Inn (VRI)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Clemente Inn (VRI)

Address: 2600 Avenida Del Presidente, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Clemente Inn (VRI) 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your San Clemente Inn (VRI) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Clemente Inn (Vri) Hotel San Clemente
San Clemente Hotel
Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Clemente Inn (VRI), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.