We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golfing in San Clemente” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shorecliffs Golf Course

Shorecliffs Golf Course
501 Avenida Vaquero, San Clemente, CA 92672
(949) 492-1177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 11 Attractions in San Clemente
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Winchester, CA, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Golfing in San Clemente”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful and challenging golf course. The club house is a bit dated and smells musty. It was a good deal

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    4
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good course for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was my first round at this course. After reading the other reviews i wasn't sure I wanted to play it. I also heard from a local that it isn't that great, but OK for someone learning to play.

After playing the course, I can say that I enjoyed it. I have an index of 10 and have reasonable control of my shots, which no doubt helps enjoy the course. I played the blue tees, which measured 6244 yards, a rating of 71.1 and a slope of 130. There is ample opportunity to lose balls on this course, with the meandering creeks and elevation changes throughout the course. However, I only lost one ball. Plenty of holes allow you to hit your driver off the tee, but there are also others where you should consider hitting a long iron or hybrid club. You definitely need to think about your choice of clubs.

The best parts of the course are the greens. They held shots well and rolled quickly and true. I had read that the greens are small, but I would say many are medium sized and others are reasonably large.

I agree with other reviewers who commented that using the drainage tunnels are cart paths was a bit strange, but given the many canyons and general terrain, I can understand why. Between that and the elevation changes, i would recommend using a cart.

The green fees are very reasonable and I would definitely play this course again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“come on its not that bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you play here in the winter your a fool ! But in the summer its 20 degrees cooler here than anywhere inland and that makes up for a lot . I wont lie to you this course is rough , the greens are pretty good and the layout is difficult . I repeat this course is not in good shape but the locals say if you play well here you can do it anywhere . So drink some beer bring your buddies and enjoy the weather. If you can find a discount so much the better and if you can afford a hundred bucks go Tolega . One more thing if you drink in the bar watch out , these drinkers are pros and the cops wait just outside looking for drunks .

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to develop your game”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Shorecliffs is a very difficult, narrow course with the connections between hole grouping out of a grade B horror movie. That being said, the greens are in decent shape, the trees and hills make a fine backdrop and the price is outstanding and after playing there most courses are easy. It is an unforgiving course. So you play here to practice your game, lose balls, and get better. Not for a lovely resort like experience. It is well worth the price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capo beach. ca
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“21 bucks is great deal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the challenge! Played white tees 6/28/12- shot 100 (5 out of bounds penalties), took about 4:20 min to play. My second time playing the course. The first time (last summer) I lost nine balls. This course is unforgiving for slicers/hookers(?) and the overly aggressive. Though this is a good thing in my mind- pay about $20-$25 & take a minimum 10 cheap balls and work on your STRAIGHT AIM GAME.

This time I shanked/lost 4 balls but FOUND 5 other balls... nice. By the back nine my drives were straight out of necessity/adjustments! Booked 10:30am tee time the night before via golf18network for $21. Pin placement was tough/undulating greens, but read true and are in good shape.

Only women complain about the tunnel/sewer cartways- suck it up and hold your breath. Or just fart and make it smell better. The driving is adventurous & the layout is actually pretty cool with many scenic holes.

Will be playing again next week!!!
Can't be beat for $21.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shorecliffs Golf Course also viewed

 
San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 

Been to Shorecliffs Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorecliffs Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.