We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find! Ocean views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Patriots Boutique Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Patriots Boutique Motel to your Saves list
The Patriots Boutique Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 So. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Patriots' Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lucky Find! Ocean views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Dropping son off at Surf Camp, needed a quick one night. CHEAP! As I grabbed a cold Corona at Tequilas, the waitress told me about Patriots. It was a block down $90ish and 1-2 blocks from main drag. I think it was an old Rancho Motel but it was clean, great bedding, huge bathroom. A "beach motel" for sure, but location, views, price. Best deal in town! I'm almost afraid to let this secret out!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
20
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here mostly because it is advertised as pet friendly and compared with the other pet friendly hotels in the area, affordable, which is how we discovered this very charming, small hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We called to reserve a room while traveling up the coast in June and were pleasantly surprised when we got there and saw a very nice pet room. It was a large, clean room and lovely bathroom, with much nicer amenities than most. The room smelled fresh and the décor was pleasant, kind of a cross between old Mexican style and beach cottage. The bed was very comfortable and, after about 9p it was quiet outside, with very little traffic noise. You really can't hear the freeway traffic above. There is a small garden-like area to walk your dog and they even provide pet waste bags. Often it's a challenge to take our pup out early in some places, due to safety factors, so I was pleased when I walked her at 2a and saw the street was quiet, and there was no one hanging around. The room had a microwave, fridge, and good sized, flat screen TV with more channels than we knew existed! We fell asleep watching a lady doing a cookware demo on a Japanese Home Shopping channel. The location is very convenient to walk to shops and little cafes. We got delicious breakfast bagels and coffee from the little bagel shop just next door. Our one night stay here was great! If we come here in the future, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, for your convenience you may want to request a room on the side where the pet gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I have very busy work schedules. We frequently take little "staycations" for a day or two when we have the days to do so. Our requirements for a hotel: pet friendly for our dog who always comes with us, functional wifi access so we can binge watch Netflix or HBOGo, a refrigerator to keep or Trader Joe's haul fresh. This place delivered on all of those. The small complex is very cute, kind of a southwestern/art deco design if that makes any sense. There is a neat little bonfire and BBQ area that is available to all. They even have an area where you can leash your dog with a long slack so they can roam around too. I thought that was a nice consideration for pet owners. The in room refrigerators work really, the beds are comfortable with lots of pillows, and the owners have made an effort to put little personal touches with decorative pillows and shower curtains to give it a cozier homelike environment. The staff is all very friendly and hard working. They all seem to be very involved in keeping everything running. They keep coffee brewed right outside the office window, you can request a hair dryer from them if needed, they might have other amenities available like an iron or something you typically get in a hotel room, but if you're in need of specific things I would call ahead. The location is great, not far from the beach, there are plenty of places to eat, a Ralph's, a gas station, even a Salvation Army, all within walking distance. I will definitely be coming back to this place. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 was because our TV didn't seem to work very well, it might be a problem with the inputs on this individual TV. Not sure. Anyway, give this place a go! I think you'll enjoy it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

After walking out of another motel and then find this place it was a god send. I had been travelling with a friend and we wanted 2 rooms that were comfortable and clean. Let me say this place filled the bill. The manageress was very friendly and helpful and even dropped us off at the railway to save us walking. The motel has this lovely little garden area with a fire pit that is just great to sit at and enjoy a drink and conversation with other travellers. The place has been remodelled and is comfortable and economical which was great for us.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

had a wonderful trip to San Clemente, and happy I choose the Patriots Boutique for my accommodation. Rooms were very large and clean, with new flat screen TV's and a comfortable bed. Location was wonderful and I was able to walk to the beach, grocery store and restaurants. Strongly recommend, management was friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Booked the Ocean View Suite - well worth the money with a private patio and kitchen in the unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Super convenient walk to the beach. The hotel is very basic but clean. The room came with a fridg and microwave, which was a bonus. The staff was friendly. The outdoor fire pit was a nice touch, cool to meet people. The grill was good for cooking a steak. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Simple, clean, 10 min walk to the beach. Surrounded by restaurants, must try bagels shack, biggie burger, lots of pizza place variety of everything. A great getaway. Everything walkable. Cozy town. Variety of food.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Little Inn by the Beach
The Little Inn by the Beach
#14 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Patriots Boutique Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Patriots Boutique Motel

Address: 711 So. El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672 (Formerly Patriots' Motel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Patriots Boutique Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Patriots Boutique Motel is located in downtown San Clemente, a short stroll to the beach and walking distance to the Del Mar restaurant and shopping corridor. With a new Ralphs grocery store one block away and the neighborhood favorite Bagel Shack next door, you can leave your car parked and walk everywhere you want to go! Each room features brand new pillow-top mattresses & linens, large flat screen TVs, free WiFi internet and morning coffee in the lobby area. San Clemente is located one hour south of LA and one hour north of San Diego, and is known as the Spanish Village by the Sea because of its Spanish Colonial Architecture. 20 minutes from Laguna Beach and 10 minutes from Dana Point, San Clemente is a centrally located gem of a town and a great place for vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Patriots Boutique Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Patriots Boutique Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.