We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit of San Clemente History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens

Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens
415 Avenida Granada, San Clemente, CA 92672
(949) 498-2139.
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Bit of San Clemente History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very cool historical former home of San Clemente's first mayor. Same architect that designed the "Western White House" where Nixon retired in town.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This looked like a great place to see but we messed up!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a rookie error for a seasoned traveler. We arrived on a Monday and found the site closed. Be sure to check days and hours, since they are limited, especially during the week. We could see the beautiful court yard gardens through the gateand the casa itself from the San Clemente pier below.It is obvious to see it was a very nice, rare piece of So. Cal history to see. We will not make the same mistake again!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice trip to home with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were going to the San Clemente pier restaurant for lunch and looked up other things to do. We have often seen the big home on the hill on previous visit is to the pier and wondered who lived there. We found out, was very nice with spectacular views. Was worth seeing a restored home from the very beginning of San Clemente. Worth a visit for the home and especially the views.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ANA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Hidden Historic Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hidden amongst the apartment laden neighborhood is this authentic piece of San Clemente history that offers a glimpse into what the area was like in the 1920s. Well worth a visit a visit for the history and the views. Parking is very and convenient and the staff/volunteers are very friendly and helpful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
“Really enjoyed visiting here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I went to San Clemente from San Diego for our anniversary. We made this our first stop into town, which was a perfect choice. We got some history on San Clemente and it's "founder" Ole Hanson, while enjoying some amazing views of the area. Really glad we made this our first stop and love San Clemente for a couples getaway.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens also viewed

San Clemente, Orange County
San Clemente, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
San Juan Capistrano, Orange County
 

Been to Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Romantica Cultural Center and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.