We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We visit California once a year on vacation. We have stayed at different hotels, but our stay at Holiday Inn Express was by far the best care that we have ever experienced. The management at the Holiday Inn Express paid special and detailed attention to courtesy, friendlyness and cleaniness. The staff was very friendly and were very helpful when asked about sites to visit. We were always greeted with a smile and a friendly greeting. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express as a choice of stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    65
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
81
74
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Wow, just read a negative review of this hotel and couldn't believe it. This was hands down the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It had all the best qualities one looks for when one decides on a place to stay.
We came from Maryland to visit my son who was relocated to San Clemente. This hotel was perfect in so many ways. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or nice. There's a feel of quaintness or peace and quiet there. No noise, just tranquility. We passed very few people in the hallways. The complimentary breakfast was GREAT. It wasn't the usual boxed cereal and muffins. It was eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits. We ate breakfast every morning. Loved, loved the location. A lot of space for parking. It didn't feel like a huge commercial hotel feels. I like that it was around a shopping center and up a hill. Seriously, I can't recommend this GEM of a hotel enough. Oh, forgot to mention, the rooms were immaculate. Clean, modern and very nice. We called the front desk 2 times, once for an extra blanket because my hubby liked it cold in the room and they arrived with a blanket within 5 mins. The other time was to ask for some more wooden hangers, they also appeared in a very short time. I love this hotel, seriously. Best hotel experience I've had and we've traveled extensively.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Lobby smells like a petstore. 90% of staff were unhelpful and rude. Very noisy next to freeway. Breakfast was awful. Noisy aircon/hard to set constant temperature. Very expensive for such a crap place. They requested $400 to use meeting room for 3 hours - how disgraceful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

During the course of a recent family road trip around California, Arizona, Utah and Nevada I had occasion to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in San Clemente. We arrived early at San Clemente after two nights at a dodgy Quality Inn in Hollywood and what a difference.
We were greeted by a young lady called Guzy who allowed us to check-in early, upgraded our room free of charge and then spent time making us aware of the local attractions including options on where to have lunch and where we might find the best shopping.
Nothing was too much trouble for this young lady and her manners were impeccable. My family and I all felt as if she had taken a special interest in us though later I saw her assisting another couple in just the same friendly and efficient way.
The rooms were large, well equipped (Free wi-fi and multi-channel TV) and exceptionally well cleaned. The hotel is a little tricky to find, at the back of a shopping centre but it is well located for I-5 and the attractions of San Clemente. All in all a great hotel experience at a very reasonable price and if you are in the San Clemente area I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandp, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We do appreciate your comments and business. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

First time in San Clemente with family, enjoyed this hotel for a week, clean, great beds, good breakfast ,something for everyone, friendly staff, short drive to the beach, close to freeway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandp, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We do appreciate your comments and business. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

The hotel is located right off of a main highway, making it easy to get to. However, you do have to drive down a confusing side road, but don't be deterred! This hotel is definitely worth it.
The staff was very friendly and accommodating, even calling us to let us know when our room was ready. The room was very clean, updated and quiet. We didn't leave with the "hotel room" smell in our suitcase.
The grounds and decorations are very beautiful and chic. Breakfast was delicious! Very close drive to the beach. We had a wonderful experience and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandp, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We do appreciate your comments and business. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The San Clemente North Holiday Inn Express is a hidden gem at the rear of a shopping centre. It is next to the I-5 (San Diego Freeway) which makes it a convenient stopping point and is also close to San Clemente Pier and beach.

The hotel is in first class condition and is maintained to a high standard with a clear input from management to maintain high standards. The decor is contemporary and the rooms have flat panel TV’s with HBO and free high speed internet access.

The breakfast room was well stocked and provided the standard HIE breakfast. The hotel also had a heated pool which provided a comfortable area to relax.

I would highly recommend the HIE San Clemente North.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amandp, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your thoughts with fellow travelers. We do appreciate your comments and business. Warm regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.