We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This hotel is a true find. Located just off the interstate but far away enough that you don't have to put up with highway noise, although it is obviously an older hotel, it has been totally updated to compete with the big guys. Rooms were clean and spacious, flat screen TV, fridge and microwave. Beds were comfortable and everything in the hotel said "FRESH".

Morning breakfast was more than adaquate (I never have seen an automatic pancake maker before). Plenty of parking, a definate "I will come back"

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    65
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
81
74
18
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We came to San Clemente to visit friends and for the beaches. The hotel was neat and clean. The staff was courteous, friendly and conversational. I really enjoyed the hot complimentary breakfast. It had a good selection from pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, fruits, sausage, bacon, and eggs. There was also a good selection of teas. Also the toiletries in the room is complete I am pleasantly impressed that they provide make up cleansing wipes. The beds were comfortable and I like the pillows are not too stuffed so it wasn't like sleeping on a bolster. The parking spaces were well lit. But make sure to follow the street signs instead of relying on google maps as the gps will get confused since the hotel is located behind a shopping plaza.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's hard to find a relatively inexpensive hotel in San Clemente that is not older and somewhat mildewed--but this is it. Nicely clean and contemporary, this hotel has the feel of a new place. We asked for room away from freeway noise and were rewarded with very quiet spot on backside of hotel. Lots of easy parking, breakfast and easy access (once you've found it) make this a keeper. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A very attractive mission style building situated on a hill side behind some stores. Desk staff were extremely helpful and attentive. Rooms were comfortable and quiet. Pleasant location but if you want to be in the area near the ocean with restaurants, this wouldn't be the best spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We are very happy you chose to stay with us while you were in San Clemente. We are happy to hear you liked our Mission Style building and I am glad to hear our staff was attentative and helpful. We have a great team here and it is always nice when they are recognized. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great everything. Close to beach, close to restaurants, close to shopping. Very clean and has a fridge, and coffee pot. The breakfast is great. Has eggs, cereal, yummy cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage and a great variety of bread and rolls. Have stayed her many times. The pool is great,too.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back. The highway is right there, but the windows do block most of the noisse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here 8 days. Nice hotel, rooms were clean,breakfast was good, location was close to everything, minor things but great staff made up for it especially Riz,Allan and lady in charge of breakfast.Near highway but was not bothered by it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here for one night, but wish we stayed for 2. We really enjoyed this hotel. It is very comfortable and nicely decorated. Our room was very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We were staying in San Clemente to play at a quiet beach, which was just down the road. It would be an easy bike or car ride, plus plenty of restaurants around.
There is a pool that looked really nice and clean, but we never used it. We rather play at the near by beach. The hotel staff was also very friendly and helpful. I was also surprised by the quality of the breakfast offered. There are tons of options including a make-your-own-pancake station. The only downside is that it is hard to find when trying to get there. but over-all, if I am ever in San Clemente again, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#2 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.