We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be decieving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks can be decieving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

At first glance this place is so pretty it's almost like hidden away me and my fiancé stayed in room 310 never I repeat ever stay in that room the first night was ok we stayed four days my fiancé is a heavy sleeper not me there was so much noise you can hear every conversation when ever someone walked by the whole room would shake there were squeaks all day long at one point I thought the room was haunted if it was up to me I would never have stayed at such an overpriced places I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone I wish we could get our money back we left today and I've never been so happy to be home

Room Tip: If u do stay here never stay in room 310 or any room close to elevator
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Yanick J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We appreciate the compliments on the property. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the level of noise encountered. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

While I understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, I would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
88
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I would like to say that of all the Hotels that I have stayed in. This one stands out the most in my mind. The Facility itself is excellent and very well Kept. But it is the Staff that makes the stay more than worth it. I travel almost 6 months of the year and have stayed in Many Hotels in and out of the continental United States. It is Always and absolute pleasure to walk into a Hotel and be greated by friendly smiles and positive attitudes.

the Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Staff has an absolutely superb staff that exudes professionalism in every aspect of their work.

There is one individual that has always been extremely helpful for me and my coworkers during the reservation process and in giving information required for our stay in San Clemente.
I would like to give this individual specific recognition. Miss Guzy Johnson the Front Desk Supervisor always ensures we are taken care of. Whether it is reservations or directions to places to eat in town. She has always been extremely helpful.

It is because individuals like Miss Johnson and others on your Staff that we continue to book our rooms at your Hotel. They have manged to remember us as individuals and actually take the time to speak with us rather than conduct the necessary business and pass us along as if we were just passing through. It is noice to be treated like you are a person not just a customer. For this I would like to say thank you to the staff at the Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

There is NO area for dogs even though the pet fee is $35/night. I would expect a really nice pet area for that fee but since the hotel is on a steep hillside, the pet area is steep and dangerous. I would stay elsewhere next time if the dog is with us. Otherwise, it was a nice clean hotel - a little pricey but it's San Clemente!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DianeDuluth,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express, San Clemente, again. All of the employees are so friendly and welcoming. They greet everyone every time they leave or return.The complimentary breakfast was always a real treat. And they always had coffee on, which was really nice as well.

Also, they cleaned my room every day and replaced all of the linens and just made it look like a million dollars! I was always so happy to come back to a pristine room after a long day of exploring the local area. The beds were also super comfortable and each room comes with its own adjustable thermostat, which was really nice.

They have a "business center" available for their patrons, where one can access the internet (if you have a lap top, you can also access the internet from your room) and print maps (if you don't have a smart phone) or anything else that you would like to print.

The hotel is walking distance from Del Mar street and El Camino Real (the two main streets in the area) and also walking distance from the ocean and a really nice beach. (It's about a 25 minute walk.) The area is very nice and safe for walking alone. I walked to and from the beach on numerous occasions and never felt unsafe (I am a 20-year-old scared-of-everything girl, if that helps anyone :))

Hope this review was helpful! Thank you for reading! Good luck in your travels all!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glyndon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

this hotel is in a bit of an odd location and a little difficult to find if not using a navigation tool, but well worth finding! Staff was very friendly and super helpful. The hotel was very clean and nicely decorated. Beds were super comfortable and room was quiet. The breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wanted to stay in a decent hotel in Orange County and got this hotel... The hotel is really awesome. The staffs are friendly and always ready to help... I can recollect few names like Eddie, Guzi... all were so friendly and nice. Would highly recommend this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express San Clemente. We are very lucky to have a great team and I am sure Eddy and Guzy will be happy to hear that they made your stay enjoyable. Please come back and visit us next time you are in Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I never been to San Clemente before but the customer service at Holiday Inn Express was great. They greeted me everytime I walked in and it felt nice. I can't mention how important in how breakfast is the most important meal of the day. I've been to hotels, motels, etc where they promise to have breakfast and they dont have any. Well Holiday Inn Express delivers!!! They always different food everyday that I was there and there wasnt a limit how much I could eat. I would definitly recommend for anybody who is traveling to the area to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Shores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.