We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Commendation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Clemente, Ecuador
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Commendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I return here every time that I come to work at San Onofre Nuclear Generating Station. I have been here for a total of 64 nights since March 1, 2012.

The prime reason for this selection is the professional, courteous and cheerful staff. They have become like family. I am awakened n time and if I do not show up, theu call again. They tell me if I left my auto window down. The roomw are kept immaculate and the beds are made up in my taste, w/o the heavy down comforter. They store some of my clothes when I go home for the wknd. They make business travelling much more effective.

The breakfast is friendly and useful. The staff in the kitchen are very helpful even thought I am one of the first down in the AM.

Please single out Hiren, Neel, Guzy and Marina for commendation. They are why I come here rather than the newer suites where most of the other guys go. I have brought some of them here based on your staff.

Also, thanks for a nice pool

Room Tip: Third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi Donald,

Wow, thank you for this wonderful review, and for making the Holiday Inn Express your home away from home when doing business at SONGS. And you are right, our staff is beyond amazing - we'll be sure to recognize them for a job well done.

Thank you,
your team from the Holiday Inn Express San Clemente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    72
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
88
78
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

This place is great! when was the last time you saw marble tile in the entry way of a Holiday Inn express! also in the bathroom...staff is great... Beds are clean...TV is new..outstanding Value here.. Being a platuim Holiday Inn Member and travel for a living you will not find any better..Stay here..

Room Tip: ask for a high room better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

My family and I spent Memorial Day weekend at Holiday Inn in San Clemente and I must say that it was one of the most pleasant travel experiences we have had! My husband happens to be one of the most difficult people to please and he was so happy he went and bought a thank you card for the young lady at the front desk. We were in town for a softball tournament and our entire team stayed here and everbody was very happy. The rooms were super clean, the staff was very friendly and they had a "guest laundry room" which we loved. The breakfast was good (not just dry cereal), and the beach is just down the street! Needless to say, this is a place I would definately revisit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. It is right on the interstate but hard to find. Even thought it is close to the highway, noise is not an issue. The hotel is very well done. The rooms were standard but nice. The free breakfast was fine. It had a nice pool/bar area that is right off the lobby. I would think this would be a nice hotel to stay in if doing business in the area. For some reason the night we stay it was empty but I don’t think this is the norm.

I its only a 4 mile run to the ocean and Del Taco close by so what is not to love!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Your Del Taco comment made me chuckle because while there are plenty of great dining options in the area, sometimes a gooey bean and cheese burrito is really the best thing in the world. I've been there. Anyway, thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The rooms are well maintained, clean and quiet. Management and staff are polite, friendly and helpful. A hot continental breakfast is available. Location is slightly remote but ok for travel anywhere in San Clemente or environs via interstate 5. Nice pool and well maintained exterior and parking lot.

Room Tip: Rooms on main floor most convenient to all services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Clemente is directly located to the highway US 5, but the rooms are calm and the whole atmosphere is comfortable.
The manager was really pleased to find the perfect room for us. So, we got a room from where we had an ocean view.
Both Dana Point and Laguna Beach are near by.
Corona del mar is not that far as well!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was there in April, 2012 on a car-tour of the PCH, didn't hate it, but didn't love it, either. While near the highway (good), it was way past the back of a mid-scale shopping plaza and hard to find (bad). It was clean, orderly, well managed and even had a little pool which no one used. The bed and bath were of average size and OK. Everything was pretty clean. Bed was good.

While we were drawn (a bit) by its free b'fast offer, that was rather poor. I've seldom tasted worse scrambled eggs which looked and acted much like pebbles on a beach; they need help! The pastries were much like we experienced up the coast: old, stiff and refrigerated.
The Chinese/Vietnamese restaurant within the plaza was OK for dinner and reasonably priced.

All in all, it was OK but for its breakfast and lack of any smoking rooms.

Room Tip: If you're beat from flying or driving, the Vietnamese joint 200 yds. south isn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Dear footsore2,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked your room accommodations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations with regards to our food quality. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,
Bon V
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.