We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I've posted a few other reviews of hotels in San Clemente CA. As a way to manage my costs, I'm looking for best value. This hotel has the best value for me. i stayed at another Inn in San Clemente and this one is the best for me. While there could be more freeway noise, if you ask for a room away from the freeway, it can't be heard. Rooms are clean, updated, and well appointed. The staff has been very friendly. This has the best breakfast. The eggs are good and do not taste powered, a real plus for me. They even have a pancake maker. You will need to follow directions as its a little out of the way. I've stayed here about 4 times in as many weeks and plan to return next week

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for this great review! We are looking forward to see you again next week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
88
20
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

They thought of everything. Easy access to rooms and very clean. Loved that there was NO SMOKING ANYWHERE! Breakfast had great choices.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Excellent place to stay. Close to freeway but no noise problems. Guzy and Neel were very helpfull!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you! And yes, Guzy and Neel are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Staff & rate was great!! Rooms were very clean, this Holiday Inn was able to accommodate both our softball teams with 25 rooms only one week b/4 our stay in March-2012. They also had continental breakfast ready for our girls at 6am!! Great stay!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you! We enjoyed having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Beautifully updated room appears newly remodeled, and comes with a balcony. Very nicely appointed with lots of unexpected extras.
Would recommend it overall, with just one complaint about the noisy exhaust fan that accompanies the bathroom light.
Wish they would extend time for breakfast, as we awoke late and had to hurry to eat by 9:30.

Room Tip: Would recommend asking for a second floor room, to avoid hearing footsteps on your ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Hi Mark,
Thank you for this great review! I have made a note about the bathroom fans and the breakfast hours - we always appreciate feedback from our guests so we can improve our product and procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillian646
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I've stayed here a handful of times and never had a single problem. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. Continental breakfest was deluxe (hard-boiled & scrambled eggs, waffles, bagels, yogurt, fruit) and they have warm chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. This hotel is right off the highway, so don't expect to hear the ocean at night! Make sure you visit downtown San Clemente - it's one of prettiest towns in Orange County.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Thank you for this great review! And yes, we agree, San Clemente visitors should definitely check out the downtown area around Avenida Del Mar with its unique shops and great dining options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this property, Dec 2011, and without a GPS, it may have been hard to find; but well worth the search!
Once found, the building was of spanish style, and our first floor
room had a fridge, micro,coffemaker, contemporary furnishing and lovely marble/granite counter tops and flooring. Altho close to the freeway, our room was very quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast was good;had ample items, both hot and cold. The on- demand pancake maker was fun! We will definitely recommend this prorperty, and look forward to staying here in the future!
All staff members were friendly, courteous and helpful when needed.
Thank you Kathy Weiss for the courtesy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGilliom, Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We appreciate the recommendations, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn San Clemente
Holiday Inn San Clemente
#4 of 18 in San Clemente
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Casablanca Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seahorse Resort
Seahorse Resort
#6 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North

Address: 35 Via Pico Plaza, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Clemente
#3 Family Hotel in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Clemente is nestled in the fabulous beach side community of Southern Orange County midway between Los Angeles and San Diego. Known as the Spanish Village by the Sea, San Clemente boasts having the most pleasant climate in California. With easy access from I-5, short drive from Orange County Airport. Our location makes us ideal for visiting great local attractions such as, Legoland, Sea World, Disneyland, and Del Mar Race Track. You can relax at local beaches, attend surfing competitions, or walk on the San Clemente Pier, shop at the Carlsbad Premium Outlets. For business travelers we are close to Camp Pendleton, SONGS Power Plant, Bechtel, and Quest Diagnostics. Work or relax, our room amenities will assist you in making a day to remember and our bedding will make sure you enjoy a great night sleep. To start the morning right, stop by for the Express Start hot breakfast, served complimentary in our breakfast area and log in to our free WiFi to catch up on world news. A fitness room is available for those wanting some exercise and staying fit. Finish your day by taking a swim in our sparkling heated pool. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. Stay Smart at Holiday Inn Express San Clemente! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.