We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Cottage at the Green B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Clemente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Cottage at the Green B&B
119 Avenida Santa Inez, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 San Clemente B&B and Inns
San Diego
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary and during our three night stay we felt very special. Bill and Sandra went out of their way to help us celebrate. Champagne on our arrival and a sweet little cake a few days later. So nice of them. We also had a gift certificate to use for breakfast one morning down at the pier, at Beach Garden Cafe. We certainly felt very welcome and felt that we wanted for nothing at all times.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamcjensen, Manager at Garden Cottage at the Green B&B, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor as well. We know we wrote you back on Yelp but we wanted to thank you here too. We're so happy we could help make your 20th wedding anniversary an even more memorable occasion, and are so glad that the little touches made everything feel that much more special.

Thanks again for your kind words,
Bill & Sandra, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I wanted a private, intimate setting to propose to my fiance and the Garden Cottage could not have worked out any better than it did - the hosts are warm and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, with nice, faint background music playing it seems at all times. The accommodations include a nice kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator, hot plates, crockpots, utensils and enough stuff to reheat or cook a simple meal. The bedroom was nicely appointed with multiple heaters (my fiance gets cold!), an ample closet and a nice little Sony stereo with a variety of CD's and a dock for your ipod. The balcony overlooking the grounds made for the perfect spot for an intimate place to exchange our holiday "gifts," mine being the ring. Breakfast next morning was nothing short of spectacular. Cannot say enough great things about the Garden Cottage and know that we will be back regularly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a lovely, private, quiet, and ideal location to spend a weekend away from the kids! Bill and Sandra are incredibly hospitable and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing. The cottage is a five minute jog from the beach. The garden is exquisite and the perfect place to enjoy a good book. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Because of work being done on our home, we had to spend the night elsewhere. We selected Garden Cottage on the Green. What a fortunate choice that was. The setting is so peaceful and very relaxing. It was very pleasent and just what we needed. Looking out on and also walking the gardens was delightful and the hospitality of Bill and Sandra was beyond compare. Everything about the Garden Cottage made us feel at home and comfortable, but also pampered. The breakfast was excellent. All in all is was great!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Each guest is the ONLY guest of the two-story Garden Cottage. The complete privacy, the inspiration of the espalier fig and apple trees (and their cheerful gardener!), and the romantic cottage-style created a comfortable setting for us to unwind, reflect, and reconnect as a married couple. We lost a baby earlier this year, and "getting away" wasn't going to be easy; but, our visit exceeded our expectations. There are many simple touches and details you will appreciate - and no spoiler alert! :-) But do savor every delicious bite of the homemade ham and cheese croissant should you receive one! One suggestion we have is for guests to give the proprietors advance notice for allergies and dietary restrictions; not that we had any, but the towels were laundered with consideration of a previous guest's allergies...and just didn't smell right. Still, the proprietors volunteered this information the next day without our needing to mention, which pleasantly surprised us. Lastly, make sure to ask for how to access the free wifi, if you really think you need it. (We didn't, but had tried.) We left grateful for having met a couple who is truly wise to the real joys and pleasures of living well. Hugs to Bill and Sandra!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My only regret is not being able to spend more time here! I was in town for a photography workshop and this was the PERFECT location to stay. Very quiet neighborhood setting, morning walks along the golf course to the state park and beach. The cottage is so comfortable- the bed is comfy beyond belief and the kitchen is very well equipped. HIGHLY recommend staying here. Everything about it is top shelf!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed in the cottage while on a visit with my brother and his wife. The cottage was delightful with it's wonderful decor of flowers and art which matched the beautiful gardens and paths surrounding the cottage. I could see why weddings took place in this magical environment. Bill and Sandra, were warm and charming hosts. They managed hospitality with ease and thoughtfulness. My brother, wife, and I enjoyed many lively conversations with them which only added to the positive experience of the weekend. Their attention to all our needs was impeccable. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Cottage at the Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage at the Green B&B

Address: 119 Avenida Santa Inez, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Cottage at the Green B&B is a truly distinctive bed and breakfast designed especially for the enjoyment of its unique, award-winning gardens, vast golf course, and fresh coastal breezes. This exclusive retreat offers complete seclusion and privacy while still offering the intimate and warm hospitality expected from a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Cottage at the Green B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden Cottage at the Green B&B to your Saves list