We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Tranquil Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Clemente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast
119 Avenida Santa Inez, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Costa Mesa
1 review
“Beautiful Tranquil Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a lovely, private, quiet, and ideal location to spend a weekend away from the kids! Bill and Sandra are incredibly hospitable and accommodating. The breakfast was amazing. The cottage is a five minute jog from the beach. The garden is exquisite and the perfect place to enjoy a good book. Couldn't ask for anything more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Because of work being done on our home, we had to spend the night elsewhere. We selected Garden Cottage on the Green. What a fortunate choice that was. The setting is so peaceful and very relaxing. It was very pleasent and just what we needed. Looking out on and also walking the gardens was delightful and the hospitality of Bill and Sandra was beyond compare. Everything about the Garden Cottage made us feel at home and comfortable, but also pampered. The breakfast was excellent. All in all is was great!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Each guest is the ONLY guest of the two-story Garden Cottage. The complete privacy, the inspiration of the espalier fig and apple trees (and their cheerful gardener!), and the romantic cottage-style created a comfortable setting for us to unwind, reflect, and reconnect as a married couple. We lost a baby earlier this year, and "getting away" wasn't going to be easy; but, our visit exceeded our expectations. There are many simple touches and details you will appreciate - and no spoiler alert! :-) But do savor every delicious bite of the homemade ham and cheese croissant should you receive one! One suggestion we have is for guests to give the proprietors advance notice for allergies and dietary restrictions; not that we had any, but the towels were laundered with consideration of a previous guest's allergies...and just didn't smell right. Still, the proprietors volunteered this information the next day without our needing to mention, which pleasantly surprised us. Lastly, make sure to ask for how to access the free wifi, if you really think you need it. (We didn't, but had tried.) We left grateful for having met a couple who is truly wise to the real joys and pleasures of living well. Hugs to Bill and Sandra!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My only regret is not being able to spend more time here! I was in town for a photography workshop and this was the PERFECT location to stay. Very quiet neighborhood setting, morning walks along the golf course to the state park and beach. The cottage is so comfortable- the bed is comfy beyond belief and the kitchen is very well equipped. HIGHLY recommend staying here. Everything about it is top shelf!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed in the cottage while on a visit with my brother and his wife. The cottage was delightful with it's wonderful decor of flowers and art which matched the beautiful gardens and paths surrounding the cottage. I could see why weddings took place in this magical environment. Bill and Sandra, were warm and charming hosts. They managed hospitality with ease and thoughtfulness. My brother, wife, and I enjoyed many lively conversations with them which only added to the positive experience of the weekend. Their attention to all our needs was impeccable. I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

From the moment my husband and I walked into the manicured garden area and walked towards the cottage, we knew this was going to be a wonderful experience for our 20th anniversary. When we stepped into the cottage, we felt the warmth and coziness and knew we chose the right place. This cottage has a calming effect to the point you don't want to leave. The owners, Bill and Sandra were perfect hosts. Their hospitality, service and kindness exceeded our expectations. This is now our home away from home and we look forward to coming again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed here last weekend, celebrating my wife's birthday. Beautiful property, great location directly accross from a golf course and hospitable inn keepers. You will not have any regrets and probably like my wife, you will not want to depart either.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast

Address: 119 Avenida Santa Inez, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is truly a distinctive bed & breakfast designed especially for the enjoyment of the award-winning gardens, golf course and fresh coastal breezes. This exclusive retreat offers complete seclusion and privacy while still offering the intimate and warm hospitality expected from a bed and breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden Cottage at the Green Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list