We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL SUCKS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“HOTEL SUCKS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Bid on a room through priceline, got to the hotel and requested two beds and the manager said that we only had 1 queen for 2 adults and 2 kids ask for an extra bed, manager said there would be an additional 20.00 a night fee…wow……….. this sucks…………

I will never stay here or use priceline again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
How is it the hotels or pricelines fault?....Your reservation was for 1 Queen bed for 2 guests.If you change your request at check in to 2 Queen beds for 4 guests...there will be an additional charge..Its normal at all hotels..If you were unsure of your room type during booking on priceline, you could have called the hotel direct or priceline,both are open 24 hours......It is unfair to say HOTEL SUCKS due to your mistake.....THANK YOU..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
10
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My Wife and I checked in around 3:45 AM and after being up at the room for 5 minutes we decided not to stay, then we went back down to the front desk to tell that MAN FROM INDIA that we're not staying. He had the sorry look on his face, and told us that he can't do any refund for the five minutes that we had spent WALKED IN THE ROOM AND WALKED RIGHT BACK OUT... I told him that on the receipt it said if stayed more than ten minutes that's when you can't get any refund back!!! but he kept insisting that he did make an authorized through the solo computer with my credit card and he can't do anything about the situation, that really pissed me off. Anyways...to cut the story short I shouldn't be there in the first place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
We have a 100% refund policy if requested within 10 minutes of check in......You were given a full refund...Your debit/credit card was authorized for the nights stay but not charged....Authorizations drop off after 7 days......THANK YOU.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

At only a couple dollars more than a Motel 6, this is a great place to stay! Our room was on the third floor facing both the ocean and the freeway (it seems like you can't have one without the other in San Clemente) and yet it was remarkably quiet. The wireless Internet was free but the connection was very poor - probably because the room was far from the lobby - but we didn't go there to play on the Internet so it was no big deal. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and comfortable, though the bathroom door was a bit too large for the bathroom making getting in and out rather awkward. Parking under the hotel was very convenient and an elevator made the third floor room easily accessible to my handicapped wife. All in all a most enjoyable stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

This hotel deserves a second chance. It has been totally redone. New bathrooms,new carpet, new mattresses. Worth every penny in a town by the beach. Manager and maids are friendly and helpful. Stayed here for over a month working at SONGS. They give discount for plant workers. Only drawback is parking. It is tight but secure. Rooms are all upstairs.There is a elevator. It has king rooms,queens with a sitting room, or 2 queens in a room. Refrig and microwave. There is a laundry across the street and try Gordon James steak house for great meals.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I was worried when I saw how inexpensive the room was, but the hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and it really is a decent hotel. It isn't a 5-star resort, but I was impressed for the money spent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newyork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

best bang for your buck... nice clean rooms...friendly staff... central location... great rates...if you are looking for a full service hotel this is not the place...will return next time i am in san clemente....

  • Liked — clean rooms
  • Disliked — limited parking, first come first served basis...
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2006

I called this motel to get directions and was told I didn't need a reservation because they had plenty of rooms. I tried to give them a credit card over the phone and they said it wasn't necessary to reserve a room and refused to take my credit card number. When I got to San Clemente I called them to let them know I had arrived and was told I had 15 minutes to get there. Since I was using public transportation I said that wouldn't be possible but that I would get there as soon as possible. The person hung up on me. I called back and the next clerk also hung up on me. I then had to find another motel on short notice. I reported this incident to the Better Business Bureau who said the motel never responded.

  • Disliked — Rude front desk staff
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
92672, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2006
Motel,does not accept reservations for same day arrivals.Same day arrivals are on a walk in first come basis.Sorry for the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Address: 2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.