We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to lay your head...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
California
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good place to lay your head...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I would stay here again if I wanted a place to crash and that was it. The location was ok because there's a really great Mexican restaurant - El Mariachi, across the street as well as a walk's distance to shops and other eateries.

The room wasn't too bad. It was actually in a lot better than the Best Western Casablanca room I stayed in the weekend before. The hotel was close to an apartment/residential area which made it seem a little "rough". I've been frequenting SC every weekend and I'm bound determined to stay at an affordable hotel that isn't run down and that is located in a decent area/vicinity to everything else.

I'm writing this a week later and for $10 more I found a hotel that was a little farther from the main SC area, but the room was MUCH nicer and it included a full, HOT breakfast buffet in the morning. Worth doing your research and seeing if you can find something else.

The staff wasn't bad at all. This seems like a mom and pops operation and it's not their fault that the hotel doesn't have all the bells and whistles of the bigger chains. The internet was free so that was a plus. For the price it isn't bad. Like I said for $10 I was able to feed 3 people a hot breakfast the next day that included an updated room.

Do your research! If this ends up being the cheapest stay it really isn't that bad though!

Room Tip: Use your check in slip across the street at the Mexican Restaurant to receive 15% off! Be careful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddhaInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Shore of Montreal
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

San Clemente is expensive, you got more to see and experience in Carmel and you have lodging for a lot less in Monterey which is about 10 min from Carmel.

The room was clean, bed comfy. Parking is under the hotel. Not noisy but the AC in room 313B was noisy (it the heater at the same time) so don't take that room. Staff is ok but not to friendly ....

There a small hotel on the other side of the street 1 block more away which have a fire pit outside, bbq and outdoor kitchen that I would recommend (sadly is was foully bock for our stay)

Room Tip: Dont take the 313B A/C heater is really noisy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I found the management and cleaning staff very friendly and accomadating. The hotel did need some aesthic updating. However, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the room was larger than expected and the price couldn't be beat. There is also an amazing place to get breakfast right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FLBRIAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to improve. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our cleanliness and friendly staff. We take great pride in our inn and put customer service first. We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Husband and I came here with our baby, with no reservation. The manager not only let us check in early, but gave us a suite, which was perfect for us, so that baby could have his own room. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the room was for the price that we paid. The bed was quite firm, but we still slept great. Even though we had our baby's stuff strewn everywhere, the housekeeper did an awesome job cleaning for our stayover service. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwordsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for being our valued guest! We credit our success to providing good service and clean accommodations at affordable prices. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

After reading the reviews I was worried about staying here, but everything was just fine. As forewarned, the check-in desk staff was outstandingly unfriendly, but so what. At this price pampering does not have to be included. Hopefully a person would be able to call a friend if their feelings got hurt. The room was just fine by budget standards, everything decent no problems.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We value all remarks, and appreciate you taking the time to share them with other travelers. We look forward to your return. We hope you continue to take advantage of our good value and allow us another opportunity to extend our hospitality in the future.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Bid on a room through priceline, got to the hotel and requested two beds and the manager said that we only had 1 queen for 2 adults and 2 kids ask for an extra bed, manager said there would be an additional 20.00 a night fee…wow……….. this sucks…………

I will never stay here or use priceline again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SORNELAS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
How is it the hotels or pricelines fault?....Your reservation was for 1 Queen bed for 2 guests.If you change your request at check in to 2 Queen beds for 4 guests...there will be an additional charge..Its normal at all hotels..If you were unsure of your room type during booking on priceline, you could have called the hotel direct or priceline,both are open 24 hours......It is unfair to say HOTEL SUCKS due to your mistake.....THANK YOU..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Clemente hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My Wife and I checked in around 3:45 AM and after being up at the room for 5 minutes we decided not to stay, then we went back down to the front desk to tell that MAN FROM INDIA that we're not staying. He had the sorry look on his face, and told us that he can't do any refund for the five minutes that we had spent WALKED IN THE ROOM AND WALKED RIGHT BACK OUT... I told him that on the receipt it said if stayed more than ten minutes that's when you can't get any refund back!!! but he kept insisting that he did make an authorized through the solo computer with my credit card and he can't do anything about the situation, that really pissed me off. Anyways...to cut the story short I shouldn't be there in the first place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
We have a 100% refund policy if requested within 10 minutes of check in......You were given a full refund...Your debit/credit card was authorized for the nights stay but not charged....Authorizations drop off after 7 days......THANK YOU.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Clemente hotels
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Clemente North
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
Rodeway Inn San Clemente
#13 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Patriots Boutique Motel
The Patriots Boutique Motel
#10 of 18 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites San Clemente
0.6 mi away
San Clemente Inn
San Clemente Inn
#9 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites San Clemente
Comfort Suites San Clemente
#11 of 18 in San Clemente
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Address: 2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Hotel San Clemente

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing