We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but clean and okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
South Shore of Montreal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive, but clean and okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

San Clemente is expensive, you got more to see and experience in Carmel and you have lodging for a lot less in Monterey which is about 10 min from Carmel.

The room was clean, bed comfy. Parking is under the hotel. Not noisy but the AC in room 313B was noisy (it the heater at the same time) so don't take that room. Staff is ok but not to friendly ....

There a small hotel on the other side of the street 1 block more away which have a fire pit outside, bbq and outdoor kitchen that I would recommend (sadly is was foully bock for our stay)

Room Tip: Dont take the 313B A/C heater is really noisy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
11
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I found the management and cleaning staff very friendly and accomadating. The hotel did need some aesthic updating. However, everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, the room was larger than expected and the price couldn't be beat. There is also an amazing place to get breakfast right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We appreciate your comments as we constantly strive to improve. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with our cleanliness and friendly staff. We take great pride in our inn and put customer service first. We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Husband and I came here with our baby, with no reservation. The manager not only let us check in early, but gave us a suite, which was perfect for us, so that baby could have his own room. I was pleasantly surprised with how nice the room was for the price that we paid. The bed was quite firm, but we still slept great. Even though we had our baby's stuff strewn everywhere, the housekeeper did an awesome job cleaning for our stayover service. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
Thank you for being our valued guest! We credit our success to providing good service and clean accommodations at affordable prices. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

After reading the reviews I was worried about staying here, but everything was just fine. As forewarned, the check-in desk staff was outstandingly unfriendly, but so what. At this price pampering does not have to be included. Hopefully a person would be able to call a friend if their feelings got hurt. The room was just fine by budget standards, everything decent no problems.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2011
We value all remarks, and appreciate you taking the time to share them with other travelers. We look forward to your return. We hope you continue to take advantage of our good value and allow us another opportunity to extend our hospitality in the future.
Sincerely,
Henry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Bid on a room through priceline, got to the hotel and requested two beds and the manager said that we only had 1 queen for 2 adults and 2 kids ask for an extra bed, manager said there would be an additional 20.00 a night fee…wow……….. this sucks…………

I will never stay here or use priceline again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
How is it the hotels or pricelines fault?....Your reservation was for 1 Queen bed for 2 guests.If you change your request at check in to 2 Queen beds for 4 guests...there will be an additional charge..Its normal at all hotels..If you were unsure of your room type during booking on priceline, you could have called the hotel direct or priceline,both are open 24 hours......It is unfair to say HOTEL SUCKS due to your mistake.....THANK YOU..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My Wife and I checked in around 3:45 AM and after being up at the room for 5 minutes we decided not to stay, then we went back down to the front desk to tell that MAN FROM INDIA that we're not staying. He had the sorry look on his face, and told us that he can't do any refund for the five minutes that we had spent WALKED IN THE ROOM AND WALKED RIGHT BACK OUT... I told him that on the receipt it said if stayed more than ten minutes that's when you can't get any refund back!!! but he kept insisting that he did make an authorized through the solo computer with my credit card and he can't do anything about the situation, that really pissed me off. Anyways...to cut the story short I shouldn't be there in the first place!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pete192614, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
We have a 100% refund policy if requested within 10 minutes of check in......You were given a full refund...Your debit/credit card was authorized for the nights stay but not charged....Authorizations drop off after 7 days......THANK YOU.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior Springs, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

At only a couple dollars more than a Motel 6, this is a great place to stay! Our room was on the third floor facing both the ocean and the freeway (it seems like you can't have one without the other in San Clemente) and yet it was remarkably quiet. The wireless Internet was free but the connection was very poor - probably because the room was far from the lobby - but we didn't go there to play on the Internet so it was no big deal. The room was very clean, nicely furnished and comfortable, though the bathroom door was a bit too large for the bathroom making getting in and out rather awkward. Parking under the hotel was very convenient and an elevator made the third floor room easily accessible to my handicapped wife. All in all a most enjoyable stay, and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge

Address: 2002 S El Camino Real, San Clemente, CA 92672
Location: United States > California > Orange County > San Clemente
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Budget Hotel San Clemente

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Budget Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.