We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean and a good stay but not quiet.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1562 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Spacious and clean and a good stay but not quiet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

An older remodel that is reasonably well maintained. Expect a clean and comfortable room that is just a little dated. Large HD flat screen TV with a terrific channel selection. The sounds of the train across the street were an irritant.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    17
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
17
17
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

My husband and I recently traveled to the SF Bay Area for an emergency visit to my mother-in-law. Our 'normal' hotel accomodations were not available. We had recently come to know of the America's Best Value Inns in WA/OR/CA, had been pleased. Hence found this hotel on the border of Redwood City.

I have Nothing but praise for these accomodations: in an excellent part of town, close enough to major freeways but Not with gas fumes outside the window:) - large, clean, well-priced rooms with fridge and microwave and (glory be!) jacuzzi tubs in selected rooms!

Above all, however, the hospitality of the host, Mr. Bipin Patel, was extraordinary. He listened literally to my request for a non-smoking room for 2 seniors, one queen-sized bed. Didn't have that. We went to leave. Sat looking for other motels. He came out to our car, said, 'Would you mind a King-sized bed? I do have one - non-smoking - with jacuzzi...' --

He insisted on Showing us the room - a first for us both (no one else has Ever shown such care, diligence, attention to details and desire to meet our smallest need.) We not only took that room for the 2 nights needed, but have his card in hand: we come to the Bay area several times a year from our home in Medford, OR - will now be permanent repeaters with Mr. Patel - know the room to ask for -- could not Have a better place to relax!

Thank you so much for this opportunity to share. It's the first time I have ever filled out a form such as this. Probably the last. But Mr. Patel deserves this and more --- if possible, a raise and a Promise in triplicate for a steady job for many, many years to come...

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi room! Great opportunity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This place is a good, basic motel. I got a good sized room with a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, a TV with plenty of channels, and free wifi for a very reasonable price. The front desk person was nice and there's free coffee, juice, and pastries in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We needed a room to stay in that was close to the SF Airport and I was very pleased with this room. We arrived about 8pm with 2 adults, and 2 kids. Hotel Staff (owners) were very nice and accomodating, and made sure we had everything we needed. (EXTRA COFFEE) which matters to me. We were given extra pillows, and best of all they had a smile the whole time we were checking in. We were offered the breakfast in the morning, but since we had a early morning flight we did not take advantag of that. The room was very clean, and comfortable. It was out-dated, but we were not looking for a "fancy" place. Just a COMFORTABLE AND SAFE place to sleep before a flight. Pleanty of parking and the only time we heard the train across the street was when we opened the window for fresh air. Once window was closed it was private and quiet. We will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: great price, comfortable beds, and close to the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This place insists on coming into to clean, daily and we learned why.. there are tiny bed bugs that come out at night and they caused serious rash that required us to leave and get another place... when we sent pictures of the bugs to the manager they told us we had a great imagination.. this issue arose in 2010.. it has been awhile but with the subsequent epidemic you are warned.. never stay here..

Room Tip: dont stay here for any period of time.. there are bed bugs that have invested the beds.. they don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

i had a chance to live in this hotel for 3 days while i was visiting san francisco and sight seeing the bay area. The location of the hotel is great and is right across el camino real which is an easy connection to the main city and the bay area. i had fun touring around the bay area and i could easily access the dowtown by means of public transport. Ok now about the quality of rooms. The rooms were comfortable and bright. The check in was very smooth and it took me no time, especially as i was a walk in customer. The front desk manager was very helpful, polite and cooperative as he conveniently gave me a lot of tips regarding the best way to tour the city and also gave me leaflets of most famous spots of the city to visit. I also liked the complimentary tea and breakfast,( they just serve tea/coffee and croissants ).So overall i think the hotel was very comfortable and its central location makes it easily accesible to almost all places in city and bay area. The manager is very cooperative and he should be contacted to get good tips of the city. The lady is helpful too and is eversmiling. I had a great stay here and i recommend this hotel for its good price, excellent service, nice location and relaxed environment

Room Tip: Talk to the manager at the desk , he is very cooperative and will guide you through
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Besides being right on El Camino Real - an incredibly busy boulevard, the commuter train between San Jose and San Francisco passes 100 feet away all day and night long. Rooms are dirty, sheets don't get changed and the place is in need of repairs everywhere. New ownership lives behind lobby and the smell of Indian spices is quite repugnant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gandhis, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
We appreciate your review and regret for any inconvenience during your stay. Our location is on road and local trains run during day time. There are no trains at night. Also, we have double windows to reduce any noise from train or traffic. Almost, all hotels on El camino has same impact from noise. We hardly get any complaint due to our double windows. We maintain highest standard for cleanniness and house keeping and all sheets are changed as per standards. We take pride in service and maintenance as well as houskeeping service. The hotel has same ownership for last 25 years. If you have any concerns, we encourage you to bring it to the attention of front desk manager, who can always take care of any issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1562 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel San Carlos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.