We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in San Carlos
San Rafael, California
1 review
“Well run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Nice and clean, convenient location, courteous and attentive staff, and a great value. No complaint at all. Just nice and smooth. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
10
9
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I chose this place as one of the easiest to reach places from the Kaiser Permanente hospital in Redwood City where my sister was having surgery.

The places closer in didn't seem as "safe" and user friendly.

Room was obviously clean and had been renovated in the recent past but had some minor wear.

Minor wear including: chip in bath floor tile, significant wear/staining at drain in plastic sink, swelling and warping of bath door.

Bed was surprisingly high, firm with some soft topping. Slept well.

this is the sort of motel/hotel that you drive up and park right in front, so I turned the heating unit up high on fan only and used earplugs and didn't hear a thing.

They have a pool in the parking lot and also a continental breakfast with a surprising number of choices-not just rolls and coffee.

I can't imagine staying here for a week of vacation, but if you just need a clean convenient place to sleep, it's worth the $80.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

it's kind of a motel but a very pleasant one. nice quite location, close to some restaurants, free breakfast and free internet. Rooms were clean and comfortably layed out. will definitely stay there again! Quite easy to get to San Francisco too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were very pleased with the Hotel San Carlos. The room, while on the small side, was comfortably furnished and had everything we needed. There is a wonderful pool.. Most impressive was the service from Front Desk the Housekeeping Staff when I realized I had left my Blackberry and charger in the room. I called from the airport in a panic and spoke to Andy( Front Desk) who ensured--that same day--that the phone was sent back to me. It was a great relief to have such professional service when I really was in a panic.Very nice neighborhood,lots of options for restaurant near Hotel San Carlos in San Carlos Downtown.The plus was ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. I will stay at the Hotel San Carlos again and would highly recommend it. It is a nice hotel that manages to have a high level of personal service. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Me and my girlfriend came here on a road trip through Western USA and we have seen already a lot of Motels. This one had for the acceptable price of $80 Dollars really a very high quality - and especially what we were looking for a very high cleaning standard. For trips to San Francisco (with car) this served us really good. This is actually the first time we write a review - since we tought that they deserve it and they deserve a lot more customers. The parking was free (not like in most of the airport hotels) and the staff really nice. The continental breakfast was ok. We had some toasts and espically coffee. Its a safe area but we sadly didnt have time to enjoy the flat-tv with dish network.

Anytime again !!!



oh and the cleanlyness....even outside the patio the hallways....everything very clean

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

the hotel was ok.. we checked in late, around midnight.. though we called ahead of time that we will be late.. when we arrived, we had to wake up the hotel staff so we can check in, he was pleasant though and accomodating.. it was just awkward that we had to wake him up just to check in.. the room was clean and functional.. beds were ok..they had a microwave oven (thats a must for us since we travelled with a baby).. ok location just a short 5mindrive to san francisco..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Lured in by the price and pictures, I booked and stayed at this hotel (motel would be a more accurate description) with my wife and two small kids. In short - services not as advertised! The “continental breakfast” was a joke, served at the main office with 2 small guest tables and 4 chairs (for a hotel with 29 rooms?) The breakfast had poor variety and often consisted of leftovers for days. Oh, and God forbid you were a second late; you would have to argue with the hotel staff to get you stale muffin and a couple overripe bananas. I still feel sorry for that Italian tourist for the humiliating experience he went through, even though he was there on time, but the staff had already cleared the breakfast items.

The room was small and not the cleanest. The a/c was about a foot away from one of the beds, blowing cold air on to you while you’re asleep. Sound insulation between rooms was notably poor. The hotel building seemed to have traces of structural damage throughout, perhaps a result of gradual erosion. If you happen to stay at the “hotel”, pay your attention to the tilted stairways and walkways, and the holes/cracks in the walls.

The hotel management and staff were extremely rude. Well, “rude” would be an understatement, and integrity is certainly not a word that I’d easily ascribe to the hotel management. I had a misfortune of booking this hotel through one of the Internet-based travel reservation websites. The hotel management assured me before I checked in, that, if I provide a 24-hour notice, they would let me check out early and that I would get a refund through the travel website. However, when the moment of truth came, and I went to inquire about the early checkout, I was told by the same people that they would not allow the early checkout and there would be no refund. I cannot stand it when people lie outright. I tried to argue, but the hotel management was awfully rude to me and forced me to leave the hotel (their private property).

My advice, save your money and dignity, and stay away from this “hotel”!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.