We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would be 5 stars if not for a tricky parking lot :P” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Union City, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“would be 5 stars if not for a tricky parking lot :P”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This little hotel really does have comfortable rooms, so much so that it is hard to wake up in the morning....the beds must have magnets :) The hotel is well kept and clean, with all non-smoking rooms (there are several ash trays in convenient locations) which adds freshness to the rooms :) They have excellent Wifi and Satellite selection if you just want to kick back and relax. Located on the busy El Camino thoroughfare, it can be a little tricky seeing the hotel because the narrow end faces the street, but this also keeps noise non-existant during the stay....for the price, this is an excellent place to spend an evening or weekend without sacrificing comforts for costs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    9
    0
    9
See reviews for
12
13
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We'd read some less than positive reviews, but decided to try it as the location and price were very good. We were pleasantly surprised -- front desk friendly & helpful, room clean & comfortable. For the price we thought it was a very good value. Would stay there again. Good location -- plenty of restaurants on Laurel Street which was close by.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on an upper floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was nice and our room was clean, neat and tidy. The hotel staff was also very friendly. Free wifi (very fast!), plenty of parking space and free breakfast included. The breakfast is simple but nice. If you want to go to SF (without driving into The City), you can take the CalTrain or drive to Daly City Bart Station (appr. 15 min.) and take the Bart train (appr. 15 min).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This place is easy to find and is great value, free wifi is a big bonus. The rooms are good size and there are plenty of amenities. It looks like it has been newly renovated and the reception was helpful. Would stay again if was traveling through.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked a last minute room on Expedia and for the price $69 plus tax, it was excellent.The manager would not offer this same price if I decided to stay a second night, and he did not quote me any offer at all, which I thought was odd, as the room was available and even it was not available at the price I paid,it would have been nice to know what the price was,instead of just say "No its not available" in a polite sort of way. The room was very comfortable with newer HD television and cable,and clean throughout. I liked the location also.

Room Tip: Watch for specials on Expedia!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I would agree thats its more like a motel than a hotel however it was fine. very clean, microwave and mini fridge included. Also WIFI a pool and a small breakfast offered in morning.
Front desk were very nice but parking was limted, but overall I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Because of an unfortunate mishap at home, I needed a place to stay ASAP and this was one of the few places that had vacancies; not sure what was going on in the area (other than summer vacation?)!

It is very much more a motel than a hotel, and the rooms are on the small side, but it was very clean and the front staff is friendly. The continental breakfast in the am is on the sparse side, but free internet was great. Parking is limited, because I was busy all day, when I returned in the late evening, there was never a spot available in the main lot so I had to park at the lot up above the hotel. It is a good thing that the surrounding area is a not a bad neighborhood!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.