We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short distance to Atherton/Menlo Park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos to your Saves list
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Hanford, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Short distance to Atherton/Menlo Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were looking for something close to Atherton/Menlo Park and this seemed to fit our budget. Nice looking hotel from website, but you could tell it was an older establishment. Exterior has been renovated and painted, looked very nice. You could tell the interior had been renovated within a few years ago. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Minor cosmetic problems but nothing to keep us from staying there again. Good continental breakfast. Easy location to find and not too far from the CalTrain depot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    9
    0
    9
See reviews for
12
12
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

While not the height of luxury, for the price I was very pleased. The place was clean (almost too clean, when we arrived it really smelled of cleaner), there was plenty of parking, and check in was efficient and friendly.

Up-Sides: Room appeared freshly redecorated, there was plenty of parking, the price was right. There was little to no traffic noise and very little general hallway noise. Iron and board, hairdryer, plus a fridge with freezer and microwave. Fast and easy free wireless internet. Good water pressure and temps. Quiet restroom. Lots of lights. I believe there was a free continental breakfast but we didn't have it.

Down-Sides: The cleaner smell. Plastic cups had weird liquid on them like they'd been repurposed. Cosmetics very basic. Not great cable channels. Noisy neighbors were quite audible and difficult to locate. Not lots of towels, and they were scratchy. Lumpy pillows (but plenty of them).

All in all, if we are in the area again and get a similar deal, we'd definitely stay again (but I'd bring pillows and earplugs).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

There's a reason this hotel is ranked at the bottom the list. And this is why:

I made a reservation but then had to cancel. I spoke with the manager; Andy Patal, and asked him to cancel the reservation. He directed me to the website where I went through the process of cancelling the reservation. BUT MY CREDIT CARD GOT CHARGED ANYWAY. I spoke with Andy and he refuses to reverse the charge - even after admitting that he remembers talking to me about cancelling the reservation!

Obviously I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We regret to read about your recent experience with reservation at Hotel San Carlos. But when you called we checked the reservation status in our system and it was active reservation and we have sent you and welcome e-mail prior to your arrival and yet the reservation was not cancelled. When you make a reservation you get the cancellation policy with the reservation detail we have 24 hr cancellation policy for no charge but your reservation was not cancelled and you got charge for NO SHOW. When you called for refund and we asked for the cancellation number, so if you have cancelled and it still got charged the will give you full refund but you did not provided. We still offered you free night for your future trip but you refused. We apologize and We truly appreciate hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I spent a couple of nights at the Hotel San Carlos as we transitioned from downtown San Francisco to Las Vegas as the hotel we usually stay in Millbrae was fully booked. The rooms at the Hotel San Carlos are pretty spacious, clean and comfortable. Very good value for the money. The parking is free and adequate as is the free WiFi in all the rooms. Breakfast is meager but that what one should expect in a hotel as this. We would not hesitate to stay there again if ever we needed to be in the San Carlos area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed recently while visiting family. We wanted something close to family, but didn't want to pay a lot for just a room, nor did we want to pay less and have a lot of noise and dirty conditions. What we got was a clean and comfortable room and for what we considered a great price! The only noise was from inconsiderate hotel guests that slammed their doors on the way out at 6:00 a.m. and the hotel can't do anything about that. We were very pleased with the accommodations. The room was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and considerate. We will return for another visit to the area next year and will reserve a room here!

Room Tip: Ask for room that looks out back; no train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on a weekend trip to the Bay Area. The property was given a cosmetic update in the last few years. It is an older hotel compared with the new chain types, but overall was in decent conditionl. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was small, but had all the basic necessities, including a flat panel television, coffee maker and refridgerator. The room was clean and comfortable. The area was very quiet. The continental breakfast was not too exciting, but they did have make your own waffles. Alot of great restaurants in downtown San Carlos about 1 mile away. Based on the value, we would stay here again next time in the Bay Area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Walked in and walked out of our room immediately due to SMELL. Tiny, dirty rooms with bedbugs. Demanded our money back and the manager REFUSED. I have never dealt with anything like this before, and I've stayed in some real dives. Went to a chain hotel one block away and got a nice clean room twice the size for almost the same price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest
We are shocked that you feel that we have bed bugs. The day you checked in was the day that our regular monthly pest control company comes and sprays the rooms and exterior of the property for house hold pests. So we were shocked to read your comment on Tripadvisor. We take bed bugs and other pest very seriously, has all hotels do. So, please do visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.