We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Walked in and walked out of our room immediately due to SMELL. Tiny, dirty rooms with bedbugs. Demanded our money back and the manager REFUSED. I have never dealt with anything like this before, and I've stayed in some real dives. Went to a chain hotel one block away and got a nice clean room twice the size for almost the same price.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HSCManager, Manager at Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Guest
We are shocked that you feel that we have bed bugs. The day you checked in was the day that our regular monthly pest control company comes and sprays the rooms and exterior of the property for house hold pests. So we were shocked to read your comment on Tripadvisor. We take bed bugs and other pest very seriously, has all hotels do. So, please do visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    9
    0
    9
See reviews for
10
11
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stay Away!!
We found LIVE BEDBUGS at this hotel. Staff would not compensate us and only would change our room.
Breakfast was stale and no seating.
Save your money and go somewhere else.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel several times and hope to continue doing so, as my needs dictate. The manager was flexible and accomodating, giving me a late checkout when I needed it. The room rates are very reasonable for the area and for the quality of the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I really like this hotel and the management.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Nice and clean, convenient location, courteous and attentive staff, and a great value. No complaint at all. Just nice and smooth. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

I chose this place as one of the easiest to reach places from the Kaiser Permanente hospital in Redwood City where my sister was having surgery.

The places closer in didn't seem as "safe" and user friendly.

Room was obviously clean and had been renovated in the recent past but had some minor wear.

Minor wear including: chip in bath floor tile, significant wear/staining at drain in plastic sink, swelling and warping of bath door.

Bed was surprisingly high, firm with some soft topping. Slept well.

this is the sort of motel/hotel that you drive up and park right in front, so I turned the heating unit up high on fan only and used earplugs and didn't hear a thing.

They have a pool in the parking lot and also a continental breakfast with a surprising number of choices-not just rolls and coffee.

I can't imagine staying here for a week of vacation, but if you just need a clean convenient place to sleep, it's worth the $80.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

it's kind of a motel but a very pleasant one. nice quite location, close to some restaurants, free breakfast and free internet. Rooms were clean and comfortably layed out. will definitely stay there again! Quite easy to get to San Francisco too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We were very pleased with the Hotel San Carlos. The room, while on the small side, was comfortably furnished and had everything we needed. There is a wonderful pool.. Most impressive was the service from Front Desk the Housekeeping Staff when I realized I had left my Blackberry and charger in the room. I called from the airport in a panic and spoke to Andy( Front Desk) who ensured--that same day--that the phone was sent back to me. It was a great relief to have such professional service when I really was in a panic.Very nice neighborhood,lots of options for restaurant near Hotel San Carlos in San Carlos Downtown.The plus was ALL ROOMS ARE NON-SMOKING. I will stay at the Hotel San Carlos again and would highly recommend it. It is a nice hotel that manages to have a high level of personal service. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos

Address: 26 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070 (Formerly Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at our small, boutique hotel in San Carlos, CA, you can count on a warm welcome and a pleasant stay. We are proud to give personal attention to each of our valued guests. No other hotel in San Carlos, CA, can offer our level of comfort and service at such affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Carlos
San Carlos Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.