We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town Restaurant

Town Restaurant
716 Laurel St, Ste 8, San Carlos, CA 94070-3155
650-595-3003
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Town Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 119 Restaurants in San Carlos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cherry Street
Transit: Located walking distance from the San Carlos Cal Train Station
San Jose, California, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Happy Hour experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our party of 3 went and did not have reservations. Some nice people in the bar overflow seating shared a booth/table with us. The sea bass was a hit-buttery and delicious. Done very well. The risotto was a hit with our party also. The BBQ pork sliders were ok-went great with the vino. The buns on the sliders were fresh-and the sauce was mild, and not too spicy. I did not think the volume of the restaurant was not bad-although a NBA game was on. The experience was pricey, but a good experience nonetheless. We will definitely return if possible.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    55
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I had an excellent lunch here yesterday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I had an excellent lunch here yesterday. My Ahi tuna salad was excellent. The service was attentive. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice, but very loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very good food, nice local hangout, but if you want to visit and be able to hear each other, forget it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you can get a table- reservations are a must! We did eat outside under the heaters, which provide amble heat! The food is fabulous. I had the steak with crab and it was cooked to perfection. Their drink menu is supreme. It is always busy and lively. A great restaurant to have locally.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to see and be seen....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've eaten here twice and both times it has proved to be an energetic atmosphere. The bar is typically bustling and the wait staff is busily going to and from tables. The food is great and you have to try their Napa Cabbage salad. The recently switched up their butternut risotto to mushroom which was excellent as well. The mixologists have a some great takes on bar drinks. Be sure to view their menu as well. Not sure this is best place for a business dinner as it can be quite loud if you are close to the bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Town Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.