We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlos Inn

San Carlos Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added San Carlos Inn to your Saves list
San Carlos Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1140 Morse Blvd., San Carlos, CA 94070   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

San Carlos Inn is nice place to stay in the San Francisco bay area. I am happy with my stay at this hotel. Nice, very clean and quiet. I checked in 2 am with no issue clerk was very nice and helpful. Very safe neighborhood its very easy to get train for San Francisco. There are numerous great restaurant in San Carlos Downtown near by. The front Desk was friendly and courteous--we asked for extra pillow and towel and they provided with no problem. Bed was comfortable and the TV had lots of channels. I don't understand why people are so picky- this isn't some fancy five-star place. This is the kind of place I like to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hung_Chan_Tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
South San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HotelReview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

When arrived to check in on a pre-paid reservation found that the our room has been given to someone else. Management then asked us to come back 3 hours later so they can relocate the tenants into another room and get it back to us. Once we were able to get into the room found that it was "superficially clean" and the smell was not the greatest. The showers are not easy to operate so you end up getting a hot water bath. There was a frozen dinner in the fridge that appears to have been there for ages.

Early in the morning got a phone call asking us to be out of the room by 10:30am (even though we had a 2 day rental) so the Maids can get in and clean the room. Needless to say, we checked out that same morning and went someplace else. There are no cash refunds or credits to another stay (not that anyone would care to stay). Will never stay here again.

  • Liked — Geographical location.
  • Disliked — everything.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alortiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Carlos hotels

London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

I'm giving this motel an 'above average' rating because it's so cheap in an area where far higher prices are the norm. I paid just $63.06 per night including taxes via Travelocity (But I'm not entirely convinced by the reviews of the hotel on Travelocity)

San Carlos Inn is a really basic motel and the decor was on the dull side, and though a bit worn the room was clean.

My fairly small room had two queen beds crammed into it, and a TV, microwave and refrigerator. No coffee machine - usually the room facility I use most (after the bed). No hotel wi-fi but its within range of free public internet that worked OK. No breakfast - but on San Carlos Avenue a few blocks away there's Vic's Family Restaurant.

The motel backs onto El Camino Real, but I didn't hear any road noise. And thohgh I did hear the rumble of passing trains, they didn't interupt my sleep, and I'm quite a light sleeper.

In summary, an adequate and cheap hotel if all you need is a night's sleep. You get what you pay for.

  • Liked — The price - my recommendation is for travelers on a tight budget
  • Disliked — The cheerless decor
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Carlos
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 6 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlos - San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#7 of 16 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#8 of 16 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
Sofitel San Francisco Bay
#2 of 16 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Carlos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Carlos Inn

Address: 1140 Morse Blvd., San Carlos, CA 94070
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — San Carlos Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your San Carlos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Carlos Hotel San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing