We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, lovely staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Skyway Road, San Carlos, CA 94070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Chico, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Convenient location, lovely staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Reserved a room here for my family when they visited over President's Day weekend. The agents at the Front Desk were very courteous and friendly each time we interacted. The location (south of SFO) is right off the freeway. Very convenient to San Francisco and Silicon Valley. Right across the freeway is San Carlos, which has a cute downtown with tons of restaurants.

The hallways (carpet, walls) looked remodeled and everything looked clean. I think this would be a good place to stay if you're just going to sleep here and be a tourist or at work all day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    31
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
14
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Fairfield Inn and Suites offers great value for families with a nice hot breakfast included.

The mattress shows wear and tear unevenly, so unless I sleep in the middle of the bed, it felt like I was going to slide off.

There are signs on the bed and a couple in the bathroom about helping preserve the environment by not changing sheets and towels everyday. I applaud management and house keeping for making sure of that. I hung up my towels and they were not changed out everyday. GREAT JOB!!

I found it so contradictory that management used SOOO much plastic and syrofoam in the breakfast area!!! Also in the rooms. How do you justify that??? Those are the MOST environmentally UNFRIENDLY items. There's paper if you don't want to wash the dishes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Given the overall price, it was a good value. The breakfast was good, although there was not enough seating unless you got there when they opened (or before). We were on the backside and the San Carlos airport is right there. The planes did not run in the night but we ran the fan on the HVAC to be safe. The rooms are small but adequate if you are not in the room too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is definitely not one of the nicer Fairfield Inns I've been to. It seems older, the lobby/breakfast area is not too nice, there is only an outdoor pool and the "gym" consists of one treadmill, one bike, and one elliptical machine. Also the motion detector lights in the rooms were annoying/confusing to use.

At almost $200/night, this place seemed rather expensive in my mind for what it offers, but it might be par for the course in the expensive Bay Area.

The staff were kind, rooms were fine, breakfast was fine, and location served our business purposes well. A thoroughly average/slightly below average hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Staff was very pleasant and accomodating. Hotel rooms were just average. Bathrooms were very small and no real closet available. Beds were very comfortable which was a nice surprise. Breakfast in the morning was better than anticipated with warm scambled eggs, sausage, waffles, and much more to choose from.

Close to the airport and if you want a real meal Izzy's Steakhouse is right behind the hotel and shares a parking lot.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room away from the highway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn and after a long business day I get to my room late at night hoping to fall asleep to a good movie. I often need to watch a little TV to sleep when traveling. Well the TV did not work frustrated I call the front desk to complain. within minutes a nice young lady was at the door with several remotes in hand. non of them worked. I was not happy in in fact pissed off and rather rude to the young lady.. I went to bed and in the morning shrugged off the lack of a working TV. Later that next morning from the Hotel manager apologizing for the lack of the working TV and offered a few bones points to my rewards account. My point is sometimes stuff happens, what is important is that the management wanted to make me a happy customer. This accompanied with a friendly supportive staff will make me a return customer

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights on a business trip. The staff was very welcoming and made sure that we had everything we needed while we were there. The room was very comfortable and the bed was one of the best we have ever slept on in a hotel. There was always coffee in the lobby. The breakfast was the typical breakfast. We were right next to the San Mateo airport. The weekend was quiet and it was a little noisier on Monday. It didn't bother us because it wasn't too early. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the other side from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos

Address: 555 Skyway Road, San Carlos, CA 94070
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Fairfield Inn And Suites San Francisco-San Carlos
Fairfield Inn San Carlos
Fairfield San Carlos
San Carlos Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco-San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.