We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising and Yummy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Creola

Creola
344 El Camino Real, San Carlos, CA 94070
+1 650-654-0882
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Creola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 108 Restaurants in San Carlos
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Holly St.
Description: Hours of Operation Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday 5-9 pm Friday & Saturday 5 - 9:30 pm Lunch: Tuesday - Friday 11 - 2:30 pm Brunch: Saturday & Sundays 10:30 - 2:30 pm
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprising and Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This is a very small restaurant, and it is not kid-friendly. (We have tried to eat here on a weekend without a reservation and it was a no-go. Get a reservation.) I have driven by here multiple times and it is not a very exciting location (on el camino). In daylight it is not the prettiest place one would think to go to for a birthday celebration, but at night, it is transformed! I loved the interior decorations, the intimacy and amount of quiet is surprising. The food is clever and delicious. The whole menu is interesting! All dishes marry the Bay Area and New Orleans. Try it! You'll like it!! I will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank masonreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Northern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Day in, day out, the most dependable tasty delights for the discriminating palate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have been dining at Creola on a regular basis for about six years. Edwin and his staff provide you with an intimate dining experience, with creative Creole and Cajun cooking and a wonderful wine list. The lighting is perfect, the service supreme and if you close your eyes, you just might think you're back in New Orleans. Save room for dessert!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank driveforshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT FRIED CHICKEN AND CREO NEW ORLEANS FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Last August 2011 I went to the Creola Restaurant, San Carlos, and it was very, very good. They specialize in foods from New Orleans-Creo. The fried chicken was outstanding and it was fried a different way than I was accustomed but sure was good. They had a wonderful wine list. Overall, this place was a real find. I will go back everytime I am in the Bay Area. This is a must. Larry McNeely

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larrymcneely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very very good !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My dinner was very tasty. The crawfish hush puppies were sooo good. the bread pudding was over the top.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLosthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service, and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I've been going here for almost 4 years now and have never been disappointed. The food is amazing here. I usually get the bourbon shrimp, which comes with an amazing sauce. I've had the seafood gumbo a couple times which is so yummy and full of seafood flavor. For the entrees I usually get the Sunday chicken because it is AMAZING!!!! It's the best baked chicken I've ever had and it comes with an amazing corn bread pudding, which is like a savory bread pudding made with corn bread and corn. And for the dessert the bread pudding is definitely the way to go. It's so good! The prices are definitely worth the food. I will continue to go here. Oh and the owner Eddie is the nicest owner I've meet. And he is really friendly and personable.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creola also viewed

 

Been to Creola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing