We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb sausage sandwich ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cuisinett

Cuisinett
1105 San Carlos Ave, San Carlos, CA 94070
(650) 453-3390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 118 Restaurants in San Carlos
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
Wash DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lamb sausage sandwich ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I went here on a visit with my family. They live in the area and frequent this spot regularly. I had the spicy lamb sausage sandwich w/fries and Creme Brûlée for dessert. The sandwich was good, lamb sausage (not all that spicy) with sautéed onions - a golden color- on a baguette that was perfect, soft in the middle with a chewy crust. It was accompanied by a spicy mayo-type dip. The fries were shoestrings and served hot, as they should be. The dessert was good, the custard fairly soft with the characteristic brown sugar crust. We were there on a week night at the dinner hour, it's not a large restaurant, plan accordingly if visiting on weekends or peak times as seating is limited. It's a place where you order at the counter and your plate delivered to your table. The servers were friendly and got everything to the table at the proper time. Overall a pleasant meal with traditional food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food and service, casual atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great food for lunch or dinner. Everything I've had has been incredibly tasty and the service couldn't be better. The owner and every server couldn't be nicer. The atmosphere is comfortably casual, but it's the food that makes this place special to me.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A mini trip to Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Best quiche, moulles, steak au poivre, pomme frites,croque monsieur as well as salads, burgers chicken, fish and soup. Really warm service and care. I often order something to go with the intial order. Many other restaurants forget about it. But not this staff. It is always presented in a smart shopping bag and looks lovely.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You know you're in a special restaurant when the owner (Geoffrey) personally greets you and checks to see if everything is OK. We have eaten in this restaurant many times and never been disappointed. We have been to Paris twice in the last two years, and the food here is better than anything we had there! One appealing aspect of Cusinett: it showcases foods from around France, so you have the opportunity to sample several different regional cuisines. Everything is done well and they even have an interesting selection of wines.

When we visit family in San Carlos (three times a year for two to five weeks at a time), we always eat a Cuisinett several times. We have taken our grandchildren (both under eight years old) and they love it, too. It has become our go-to place in San Carlos and we are never disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“French comfort food indeed - great for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We love the food at Cuisinett. It's down-to-earth comfort food. Great cooking in a casual setting. Sometimes it tends to be a bit loud over lunch, and for dinner, you may want to wish for a more romantic setting. But the food - tres bien! Can recommend it also to paleo-lifestylists like we are.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuisinett also viewed

 

Been to Cuisinett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuisinett, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.