We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax on business in San Jose/SF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Circle Star Way, San Carlos, CA 94070   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place to relax on business in San Jose/SF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Just finished a weekend stay at ESA for a Monday meeting in San Jose. Hotel is located right off the 101 freeway and near SFO Intl Airport, halfway between San Francisco and San Jose. Was able to hop up to SF for fun on the weekend and then back to SJ on Monday for business. Room was spacious, bed was comfortable, kitchen with large refrigerator and stovetop was a nice surprise. I never heard traffic while I stayed there and found a dozen great places to eat within a mile or two. Front desk was always eager and able to help if I needed toothpaste or other odds-and-ends. Easily made my trip a smooth one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy S, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We want to express our gratitude for your recent glowing review of the Extended Stay San Carlos. I am so glad you found us to be just what you needed while in the area. We pride ourselves on always providing exceptional service and clean, fresh, comfortable rooms all at a value that can’t be beat. This property is situated as you said right between San Francisco and San Jose conveniently off the 101 freeway. Great for travelers visiting both cities just as yourself. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope that you will visit us again should your travels bring you back to the San Francisco Bay area. With many thanks and hospitality, the Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    10
    7
    8
See reviews for
4
4
3
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Citrus Heights, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Short business trip to San Mateo County. The hotel was above average for the price. Very clean and quiet - no, road noise but the refrigerator in my room was noisy. Somehow I managed to sleep through it anyway. Near to where I was working and not far from several decent restaurants, if you're driving. There isn't much in short walking distance. Staff was courteous. Checkout was a little slow. Automated checkout would have been nice. Also, the grab and go breakfast is disappointing. Next time I will stop at the local market and pick up some milk and cereal. The room is as advertised with a fully equipped kitchen. It was more like an efficiency apartment than a hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Property M, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
"Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Carlos. We are committed to providing every guest with outstanding accommodations, so I was pleased to read your remarks about your overall stay. Of course, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. For that I am truly sorry.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a great room at a great rate, while still giving you something extra, like our expanded coffee bar. I do certainly recognize, however, that if you are looking for a full breakfast, our coffee bar won't satisfy you. I sincerely wish we had been better able to communicate exactly what our morning service includes so that you would not have been disappointed.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada."

With Hospitality,
The Management at Extended Stay America San Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, CA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have you ever stayed in a hotel that doesn't have tissues in the bathroom? This one doesn't. They don't change your linens and you have to get your own towels. There is no workspace in the room. The room itself would make a monk happy. One chair and a couple of bar stools. Very cold and unwelcoming. The free breakfast consists of hot water, instant oatmeal, and coffee all served in a very small room with two chairs and no tables. The bed was one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever been in. I didn't say "slept in" because it was so very difficult to sleep in it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction & comfort during their stay, I was disheartened to read that your time with us wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

We know that you have several lodging options, which is why it is so important to us that we provide you with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We recognize that if our guests can't get a good night's sleep, they won't return, so we've chosen bedding that we hope best suits their needs. I do take seriously your concerns, and promise that we will continue to look for ways to make sure every guest is as comfortable as possible when staying with us.

In the case of housekeeping, our standard service schedule provides one full housekeeping after every seven days stayed, with the option to purchase additional housekeeping services as desired. We are however happy to provide fresh linens and towels upon request each day of your stay should you desire. Operating our business in this way allows us to continue offering the same great rates to which our guests have become accustomed.

Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page or contacting us directly at the hotel. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of other brand locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at this location. Staff was friendly and welcoming. Room was clean. Very impressed... first impression the hotel looks great! Same goes for the inside of the hotel, clean and smells fresh. Location is a bit of a negative with not too much within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room on 1st or 2nd if allergic to smoke. Hotel offers smoking rooms on 3rd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at our hotel. The staff and I strive to provide each of our guests with a clean, friendly and comfortable experience when they stay with us, resulting in 100% guest satisfaction. It seems that we were able to achieve this with you.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other brand locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel has been remodeled.It is very clean and QUIET. If you are looking for a place to stay with easy access to 101, near Kaiser Hospital with a kitchen with a full size refridgerator this is the place. 5 minute drive to Kaiser, 35 to San Francisco or over the hill to Half Moon Bay. Totally booked and heard nothing BUT if you need absolute quiet go for the third floor as running kids in room above you do hear. No frills like daily maid service unless you pay extra though clean towels and getting rid of trash no problem.Flat screen TV but not a zillion channels. One of very few places I've stayed with QUIET ac and heater. Husband in hospital for 10 days and being here has made the experience a whole lot stressful.

Room Tip: Ask for room on quiet side away from 101and third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Carlos. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

highly recommend this hotel, great price, clean location, great customer service, loved having a kitchenette in the room.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms have a kitchenette, I loved it, just made things easier, felt more at home r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you so very much for your glowing review of Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Carlos. Whenever I read comments like yours it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a factastic stayin Extended Stay America San Carlos. The staff was fantastic. I was completely impressed with the manager, he took his time to accomodate my needs. The room was excellent, made me feel like home. Without a doubt i will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay America San Francisco - San Carlos and the compliments about our management staff. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos

Address: 3 Circle Star Way, San Carlos, CA 94070
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead San Carlos Hotel San Carlos
Homestead Hotel San Carlos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Carlos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.