We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent hotel near the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in San Bruno
Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very decent hotel near the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Nothing fancy but a very solid hotel conveniently close to SFO. An excellent, reasonably priced place to stay if you're departing at zero dark thirty. Friendly, helpful staff. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    37
    17
    6
    13
See reviews for
17
33
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sharon, Vermont
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a late-arriving flight from the East Coast and needed a place in the ariport area. We had rented a car and were looking for free parking also. Presto--- Gateway Inn!

Make no mistake: this is a very modest place, and its price (quite reasonable) dictates its amenities (quite modest). There is a modest continental breakfast at which one can have OJ in a wax paper cup, which I haven't seen in years. The soap bars are probably the thinest I've seen. But it's all good, the palce is clean (our bathroon smelled of bleach) and the price/location is right. We were able to ehar our neighbor's quite audible snoring but we're all friends, right?

Room Tip: We were in a room (215?) that direclty abuts the breakfast area. We were getting up early anyway bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, USA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The reason for my stay there was an overnight to get a good night's sleep on my return from Italy so I could catch a flight to Seattle the next day. I chose it because of the Airport Shuttle--very good, and the breakfast--hardly worthwhile. It was cereal, toast, cheap wrapped sweet rolls, coffee and oj. It was a real let-down after my Italy trip--acceptable, but not great. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room just felt tacky and not very clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Every time I'm in the San Francisco area I always chose to stay here. It is very efficiently run with great service. Employees are polite and helpful with everything, especially with directions. I loved the location because I didn't have to put up with looking/paying for parking like I would probably have to in the city of SF itself. The rooms were spacious, had large comfortable bed and TV wwith a number of channels. There was a continental breakfast in a fabulous atrium setting, very open and refreshing to enjoy a lovely breakfast in the morning. The prices for the rooms were very reasonable and they can count on me to come back every time I'm in the San Francisco area. Simply a lovely stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Had a very bad experience at this hotel, first the parking spaces were very narrow always a struggle to park when the lot if full, breakfast was horrible no proteins just carbs and more carbs. The last straw that broke the camel's back was a theft that happened in this hotel, 2 pairs of my wife's shoes were stolen from the room and when we reported it the staff were so unsympathetic and outright unconcerned. Shoes can always be replaced but the attitude of the staff towards the theft was just atrocious. Will never stay in this hotel again, i guess u get crappy service when u patronize "cheap" hotels. The only positive was the room we stayed, very spacious.

Room Tip: The King rooms are very spacious, the one we stayed had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose to stay here because the rates of hotels located near or downtown san francisco are mostly expensive. Good hotel near airport, restaurants and grocery stores. Bed was comfy, TV with good number of channels, towels and toiletries are included in the room. A breakfast is served but with limited choices of cereals, pastries and bread with different spreads plus coffee and juice. Overall, good stay plus parking is free.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I've had several one-night stays at Gateway prior to early am flights from SFO, and have always been satisfied. The rooms are reasonably large and well-appointed, and well-maintained. The rooms facing El Camino can be a bit noisy up until 10 PM or so, so if you're a light sleeper, try to book a rear-facing room. The prices are fair for the area. I'll continue to book there on future trips.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.