We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For San Francisco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Good Value For San Francisco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Did not fancy paying the high rates of downtown San Francisco so we gave this place a go and was pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is about 20 minutes from downtown when there is no traffic but you have to pick your time of day as queues are long during rush hour.
There is a large mall about 5 minutes drive down El Camino Real which has a good food court and other shops but there is also a Wendy's and an International House of Pancakes within walking distance of the hotel.
There was plenty of free undercover parking in a garage under the hotel but the spaces were tight so a big tank of a vehicle might be a challenge.
The interior of the hotel and most importantly the rooms were clean and nicely presented and the staff on the front desk were helpful and well groomed.
Much has been talked about in previous reviews about the breakfast so I will offer my thoughts on this as well but from a slightly different angle.
Firstly I will quote directly from the hotels own website " Great mornings in the San Francisco Bay area start with our complimentary delicious buffet breakfast. Featuring a delectable variety of morning treats like cereal, Florida fresh juice and fresh fruit, gourmet tea and coffee with toast. We invite you to saviour our many breakfast treats in san Francisco ".
Well that blurb on the website definitely had me expecting big things at the breakfast table but sadly it turned out to be propaganda and frankly a load of rubbish.
Firstly it is not a delicious buffet breakfast, a more accurate description would be a light continental breakfast as it is very basic with minimal choices.
Secondly there is no delectable variety of morning treats as when we were there the Florida fresh juice was so watered down it was barely drinkable and the fresh fruit consisted of bananas only and they were only present at one out of the four breakfasts we had at the hotel.
Thirdly the gourmet tea and coffee is stock standard supermarket stuff, nothing gourmet about it.
As for the picture of the nicely groomed waiter on the website, well he didn't exist either. In fact the guy who looks after the breakfast is also man on the front counter so regularly things have run out(like milk) and you have to go and get him to top them up or just go without.
So yes the breakfast is not very good but my main issue is that it is advertised on the hotels website as something special which by any stretch of the imagination it is not and is misleading.
Apart from this however we were satisfied and would consider this hotel again if returning to San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    38
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
19
35
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here the night before my flight left from SFO. It has a shuttle to and from the airport. It is plain, simple and clean and has a decent continental breakfast. The room was surprisingly large and well-appointed. The girl at the front desk was not the friendliest but was acceptable. It was a good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuppertino
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am a frequent traveler for my business tours. I read good reviews (Probably fake) and which leads me to stay at Gateway. But stay was nightmare. I went late to the hotel and there was no parking spot available.so i parked on the streets. The staff was very poorly trained and unprofessional. No customer service or warm welcome from any staff. I got a room on road side and the whole day and till late night it was very noisey from outsdie and in the hotel itself. There was people fighting and screaming but no one took any actions. The breakfast is very poor and arranged it such a way that no one like to have it. I waited long time for refilling after several requests. bread was old and cereals were not eatable. Do not count breakfast in your given price. The elevator was off all the time in the morning so everytime i took stairs to load up car. Rooms were not properly clean and no bath towels or soaps in the rooms !!! When i call at desk the girl told me for no towels since they didnt dry it !! She told me to provide later but untill i left they didn't provide nothing. There was a person in the morning at the desk , whom i complaint about issues but he didn't responed me and even apologise for inconvienence. !!

I would preffer to spend a night in the car rather then paying them 100 bucks a night for above service. I would never stay there again or recommed anyone to visit.

Room Tip: Do not visit this place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Three of us stayed here the night before flying out of SFO. The hotel has a very small parking garage (parking is free) and is convenient to the airport. The hotel offers a free airport shuttle starting at 4:10am (two of our party made use of it), and was fairly clean and in good order. We also received a reasonable rate given that we booked directly with the hotel just two days before our stay. Our chief complaint was the noise level. The rooms have no soundproofing to the hallway and we could hear every footstep and door closing (and one very loud singing guest!) at all hours. The water also smelled strongly of sulphur and the vanity lighting was extremely poor. Would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The room was an OK size and pretty comfortable. There were some noise issues with the plumbing and traffic but not overly intrusive. The main issue was that they skimped on towels, toiletries, coffees and only gave one pillow per person.

The room was clean on the surface (don't look under the bed or move the furniture)

The room did not have a safe and the hotel did not have any other safety deposit boxes.
Internet was fast, reliable and supported Multiple devices

Breakfast consisted of packaged pastries ,bananas, orange juice, coffee and two cereals. However, you never seemed to be able to get all the options at once. It was a case of "Hey look, the bananas are out ... Grab it quick"

We used this hotel as a cheap base for a few days exploring San Francisco. It's close to the airport which was an issue for us as we had to drop a rental car off one day and pick up another car on another day. There's a shuttle bus that runs once an hour and you have to be sure to book it with plenty of notice. The airport is literally 5 minutes away. In terms of getting to and from downtown SF, San Bruno BART station about 20 minutes walk (1.1 Mile). The walk is safe in the morning but, I wouldn't, and didn't, do it at night. A taxi from the BART to the hotel is $7. The BART from San Bruno is $3.95. The BART from the airport is $8.75 if you're thinking of doing it that way and using the shuttle bus.

The drive into downtown SF took about 20 minutes, even at peak hours. We used the NorthPoint parking garage, about 400 metres from Fisherman's wharf for only $9 a day. On street parking after 6pm is generally free. If you have an android phone, download a couple of the parking apps to find cheap parking."

There is parking at the hotel but when we were there, it wasn't adequate and we always ended up parking in the street.

We stayed here at peak time when the prices in downtown were high. We got a good deal relatively speaking which made up for some of the deficiencies in this hotel and the area. It's really an airport hotel mean't for one night pre/post flight stay. I think it is as good as any of the many surrounding hotels for this purpose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a stop-over. The hotel was very close to airport with shuttle. It was very clean and staff were really friendly. Stayed April 3/13. Only suggestion is their be hot water for tea at breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed here based on other favorable reviews, at 1st glance it seems clean & nice enough. At closer look I did notice there were some items housekeeping missed, a good layer of dust on the clock radio & icky-sticky stuff on the remote, other than that it seemed fairly clean. The bed was VERY firm & uncomfortable & the TV did not have great picture quality if that is important to you. I could still tolerate all the above except that the room was soooooo noisy neither my husband or I could sleep at all. There must not be good insulation because not only did we hear traffic noise all night long (the hotel is on a main street of the city with heavy traffic all night), we were on the 2nd floor (which from the looks of it I think is the main floor, I don't know that there are rooms on the 1st floor), we could hear everything from the guests in the room above us on the 3rd floor (everything from every toilet flush, the shower, the sink & what sounded like elephants stomping on the floor). Even the heater, which is on an auto thermostat, is so loud that I couldn't sleep through the the noise every time it kicked on. Then to boot, a rude guest getting drunk just outside our door yelling & screaming at 3am & again at 5am (not that I can blame management for that). We will have need of returning to the area but with all the noise issues, we will not be staying here again. Other than that I would've rated it higher.

Also, the water pressure in the shower is seriously lacking & you will want to be sure to bring all your own personal toiletries, etc.

Note to disabled guests - There is an elevator to get to the rooms, however the handicapped accessible room requires a bit of a walk to get to & is not very close to the entrance. If you have mobility issues, this may cause some difficulty. The bathroom has a standard tub (with handrails) and is not a roll-in if you have someone in a wheelchair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHira, Manager at Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Hello !
Thank you very much for staying with us during your visit to San francisco. We had certainly enjoyed having you at our hotel. We always try to provide comfort and friendly environment to our guest.It was unfortunate on our part that you had bit of inconvenience during your stay.Seems you have a noise and little bit of dust problem due to room on elcamino road side. We have rooms on all four sides of the building and if you stays on the road side and if your window is open then during day time and some time earlier in the night , we will hear vehicle noise. We recommand our guest not to keep windowns open to avoid noise and dust problem.Next time we suggest you to try our Suit rooms on back side. Also, our Flat TV and AC units are brand new so the previous guest might have change the settings of the units. We recommend you to call to the FD agent so they can solve your issue. We can't make any changes to the building design but we can definatly make a note of your suggetion for having Handicaaped room close to the elevator so that disable person don't have to travel much to reach to their room.

We promise you to serve the best of the best service next time when you stay with us at our hotel and you will have no dissatisfaction or inconveience during your stay. Hope you will give us one more chance to prove ourself. Thank you again for your support and feedback. Regards, Ojas Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel

Address: 516 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel San Bruno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Inn and Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.