We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected end of trip treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Celia's

Celia's
201 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066-4838
650-877-8245
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 121 restaurants in San Bruno
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected end of trip treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at a Howard Johnson's near San Francisco airport and asked if there was a good restaurant nearby. We were directed to the Mexican restaurant across the street. We were told it was the best in the region. She was right. We had a great meal, excellent service, and would love to go back again. It was obviously frequented by many local people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    7
    17
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Repeat enjoyment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We've been going to Celia's every time we visit San Francisco, which is a long time. The food is always great, and the servers always smiling. The décor hasn't changed, and could use a dusting or even washing. Over all, still worth coming back to.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, cold beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just stopped in for a beer and the end of the Athletics game, ended up with chips and salsa, shrimp, and churros and ice-cream. Standard American Mexican food, but tasty, hot, and delivered quickly by happy and friendly staff. I was just passing through, but it seems to me like a great place for some hearty food and a beer. Everyone on the staff was a delight. Keep it up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Reasonable Mexican Food on a busy Friday Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We tried to go to Elephant Bar, but the wait was too long for 9 people, so we decided to try Celia's. There was a 5 minute wait for them to set up the table, but we ordered our margaritas at the bar and by then, the table was set up. The meal is enjoyable and its always too much to eat, enchiladas are a safe bet as is the chimichanga. The fish tacos were messy and I couldn't taste the fish, but there's other options. Skip the flan as it has no taste, but the sopapillas were delicious and there was plenty to share with 9 people. Great price too especially when you have a large group and there's a bar tab:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Salsa was awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great salsa and chips. All the standard Mexican dishes, good food. Will return next time I'm in town, locals love this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Celia's also viewed

 

Been to Celia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Celia's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.