We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My place in San Bruno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 El Camino Real, Off Hwy 101 to 380 West, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“My place in San Bruno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel will be "my place" anytime I'm in the San Francisco area. It is convenient to the airport and major highways, clean, comfortable and with a great breakfast. Service was great and it was just the perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    183
    78
    20
    14
See reviews for
155
123
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We arrived on a late flight around 2:30am. The front desk clerk, Joseph, was so friendly and genuinely happy to serve us, it was a nice surprise for being in the middle of the night. Rooms were nice and clean, bathroom was very nice, everything is updated. Breakfast room needs more tables, however it was a good variety for continental (bagels, toast, juice, fruit, cereal, muffins, coffee etc). Would stay again!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed 2 nights when we first arrived in the city and the night before we left. Nothing but good things to say. Excellent service, we were picked up at the airport by the hotel shuttle and used it again when we left. Staff was very helpful, always friendly. Our room was even better than we expected, very clean, comfy bed, updated nice clean bathroom, and very quiet. Breakfst was good, started nice and early and had lot's of choices. Surrounding area was nice, lot's to see within walking distance and only 2km from the mall and BART station to go to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I'm not sure if my brief 8 hour stay in the hotel entitles me to write a review, but it won't stop me from writing it!! My flight landed after midnight and I wasn't going to consider driving to Yosemite so late. The hotel is well-located on a busy, but safe street. The underground parking is very handy, especially when you're tired from a cross-country flight and all you want to do it check-in and collapse into bed.
The breakfast was typical continental fare - juice, coffee, bagels, etc.. The dining room is small and was packed, so I took my breakfast back to my room and ate it there.
My one complaint is that when I walked into the hotel lobby, it smelled of smoke as if someone was either smoking in the lobby or too near the lobby door. It was not what someone who is sleep-deprived needs to smell at that hour.
Otherwise, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who has a very early, or very late flight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

Our purpose was to stay the night and catch an early morning flight. I wanted a room that was cheap but clean. That's just what we got. The room was good, plenty of space. The location is just a few minutes from San Franciso Airport. I liked the underground parking; it was better than trying to find a spot on the street. They do have a free continental breakfast, but our flight left before that was served. Overall I was very happy. It's a huge improvement from the old Howard Johnson from years back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

lower underground parking was limited because frankly i'm not going to park in any dark areas with no lights. 2nd parking entrance (upper level) was better because it had direct lobby access. front desk personnel was not very sociable; but efficient. room was clean, quiet (requested), had refrigerator, microwave. only bad thing was the wifi connection, too slow.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, England
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights so that we were handy for the Bart into SFO and to drive around the bay area. This hotel is excellent value for money and despite being on a very busy road our room (at the back of the hotel )was very quiet and extremely comfortable. The breakfast choices were reasonable my only gripe is with the size of the breakfast area, which is ridiculously small given the amount of rooms. I appreciate it is difficult to find a solution to the problem but maybe if the hotel put in 2 or 3 small round tables to seat 1 or 2 people that would help. Otherwise can't fault for the price and the staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West

Address: 190 El Camino Real, Off Hwy 101 to 380 West, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.