We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 El Camino Real, Off Hwy 101 to 380 West, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Sacramento
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was my second time here at this hotel. The hotel was a little old but clean and very well maintained. The staff was helpful and nice. I chose this hotel because of its access to SFO. I was looking for a single or a king since I was by myself. But all they had was a two Queen bedroom. The room had internet access, a refrigerator, microwave, cable television and was relatively quiet. Breakfast had a small selection. But I didn't have breakfast because of my schedule. The price per night was approximately $65.00 which is a very good deal for the bay area. If I come here again next year I will stay at this same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for staying with us a second time and taking the time to leave us your comments. We definitely look forward to seeing you again. Please, don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more confortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    166
    69
    19
    13
See reviews for
142
109
40
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GREENWOOD VILLAGE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean hotel, standard continental breakfast but added hard boiled eggs. Had trouble finding hotel with our GPS.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for staying with us! We are definitely trying to improve our breakfast and really appreciate your comments. I am sorry you had trouble finding our location but please feel free to call us next time, we will gladly help you find your way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A friend and I visited San Fran for five days and stayed here as our home base. The main reason for choosing this hotel was the price. At less than $100 a night, it was without a doubt one of the most reasonable hotels in the area. We could have paid almost twice that and stayed closer to San Fran but there's no reason to do that. The hotel is for sleeping only so why pay more?? The rooms were plenty big and the beds were comfortable. The continental breakfast was a little slim, but bagels and bananas and juice were plenty for me. The shuttle service to and from the airport was another main reason we chose this hotel. Although it took almost an hour to pick me up from the airport, it was prompt on the trip back. If you are looking for a hotel with frills, this isn't the place. But if you are looking for a hotel where all you do is use it to sleep and want a great price, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank for your comments. We are glad you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to see you again. We will definitely strive to make your stay more enjoyable by targeting the areas of improment you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Liked the shuttle bus. It came on time. My room was VERY spacious (1 king bed). And the bed was comfortable. Mostly quiet - I was across from the elevator so I heard the bell ring a few times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prativ P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valued guest, thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear you had a good stay. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know how we can make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West

Address: 190 El Camino Real, Off Hwy 101 to 380 West, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn San Bruno/SFO West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.