We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for average income families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Inn San Francisco Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Inn San Francisco Airport to your Saves list
Regency Inn San Francisco Airport
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   411 E. San Bruno Ave., San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Here and SAVE 15%
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Las vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good deal for average income families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

I lived with family during August 2008 for 5 nights as tourists. We could get good price through Travelocity. We are satisfied with the facilities they provided such as clean and neat room with 2 beds, TV, Fridge, Hair dryer, Microwave, Iron and a table with two chairs and breakfast. For a family of 4 members could stay very comfortably in the room. Moreover, the staff especially, the lady manager was very courteous, coperative and even assisted us in planning our trip to many tourist attractions. The only disadvantage I felt is that the locality is very congested as in other parts of California with less parking facilities.( though the hotel is not responsible for )


If I get a chance, I prefer to stay in this hotel again. And also I recommend the tourists to place this hotel on your priority.

  • Liked — Clean and big room
  • Disliked — On peak season, parking facility is not sufficient and have to to park in the bussy narrow street...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    26
    9
    19
See reviews for
24
18
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Well, I could write a novel about how bad our experience was for 7 hours that we endured this place that they call Regency Inn and Suites. I'll tell you what it was; it was a dirtbag hotel that put a new exterior coat of paint and some shutters and an extremely cheap interior makeover. Only, when you get to this place you know right away that you made a mistake and should've booked at the Super 8, Econolodge, Travelodge, or La Quinta, or anywhere else. I could think of anyplace that I would stay other than this dump.
And I must be honest, and say my review is completely honest, but that I am revealing all that I experienced because customer service has never responded to our complaints about how poorly our experience was.
Let me tell you in detail what happened to my wife and I. We got in on a late flight at San Fran A/P which happens to be about 1 mile from the A/P. San Bruno is a very strange place at nite.. First of all we didn't know that the shuttle picked up from the airport until midnite, so we took a 2 mile cab ride that cost us $20. Then when we arrive, we go up to the door.. Problem is there really is no lobby. One lone gentleman working behind a glass window shield that is cracked like someone just tried to break in to the joint.. with a small entry and a coffee pot.
The gentleman checks us in and gives us a key to our room. Well we have to walk up the stairs (no elevator), and all the way down to the other end about 250 feet along an exposed catwalk visible to the street, with a minimum of 3 rooms with screens torn and sticking out So we go to open up the door and realize that the room we're attempting to enter is occupied.. Well, as I'm trying the keypad, the occupants have the window and screen wide open and are looking at me like 'you got the wrong room dude', and it appeared that they were in a state of undress... Not the picture you want to think about when you're trying to get to bed so you can get up early in the morning to drive south to Monterey for a dreamy weekend.
So we're extremely tired and embarrassed and I leave my wife with all the luggage on the catwalk and head back down to the front security window.. Have to get buzzed in.. Tell the clown that he gave us the wrong room and he proceeds to give us different keys to another room.. So I go back up to the room and try the keys.. Can't get in.. Try and try, no such luck..
Ok.. we're going on 10 minutes already and it's a bit chilly and my wife and I are really questioning why we're staying at this place.
So, unfortunately I have to go back downstairs and try to get the right keys; meanwhile my wife is watching some schmucks below pull up and engage in some sort of schenanigans.. Loud noise, etc.. Of course no one cares.. I'm trying to figure out the key situation.. The front desk guy gives me another set of keys only to try them again, with the same result.. Can't get in.
So I go back down, pissed as heck (some 25 minutes later). I tell him we can't get in the room, and so he locks up, walks upstairs and finally gets keys to work for the room.

So we are laughing, tired, and frustrated all at the same time.. Thinking I can't believe we're staying somewhere like this.. Thinking, this is not what the website represented.. Did we make a mistake on the location??
So we try the room.. My wife is so disgusted that she is repulsed by the room... First, the room looks clean but we find crumbs, coins, and hair all over.. Especially in the bathroom. She won't even take a shower it's so bad.. The shower handle is pulled out from the wall...
Well, the only good news was that the cable television worked perfectly! SO I turn on the tv unbeknownst to a semi-porn channel in front of my wife.. Who would've thought you could get any channel you want? Well we are in California.
Next, we try to get ready for bed... Well, the problem is the deadbolt on the door doesn't work, not feeling real safe.. And what creeped me out is the gap around the door at this place has about 1.5 inches of daylight the whole way around.. I could practically put my whole hand under the door... Easy space for a mouse or other rodent to get in.. Unbelievable... Not cool.. At this point we were disgusted.. But the clerk had indicated that the Inn was filled up and it was 1am.. Where else are we going to go at 1am?

So we finally get to bed about 1:45 or so...
We wake up at 5:30 itching to get the heck out.. Realize that our car rental place doesn't have a car for us until 8:30am.. We check in at the front desk for the shuttle to take us to the rental car agency... Well, we tell the hotel shuttle driver to take us to Payless Rental.. He takes us to the Airport (we tip him), and we find out 20 minutes later that the rental car agency is not at the A/P.. So the shuttle picks us up and takes us to Payless. Turns out it's 2.5 blocks from our hotel.. Unbelievable...@#$%@

This is a review simply to tell you that you should avoid this strip mall hole in the wall at any cost.. You will thank me a thousand times that you did. Do yourself a favor and stay at LaQuinta or a Super 8 for the same price or a few dollars more.. You will not, I repeat, will not regret this decision...
Regency Inn and Suites in San Bruno may look good on the website, but it is plain and simply 'A brutal, poor customer service, low budget, unsafe, dump.... Avoid please..
And lastly, the complimentary breakfast.. If you call a prepacked cinammon roll and some terrible orange juice breakfast. Then you'll like this feast!!!!!!

TJ

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

The website and pictures gives the feel the hotel is equivalent to
Hyatt Regency, but in reality its no where near. This is like half mile
from the airport parking lot so that maybe good reason for a few. But, you
can count the planes that land and take off from SFO. The whole dump
smells of Curry. Its a cheap street motel that wants to earn a lot with expensive prices and save all the money yet wants
to comfort the guests by merely saying this is best possible service in town.
Parking lot was full after midnite. Was asked to off-street park next to a
huge garbage bin. The floors creeked. The bathroom was exceptionally
clean for a change. The sheets gave a feeling like was used once by
someone else and as there were no stains wasnt washed again. Far from
restaurants, pizza/chinese delivery available. for 85bucks a night not worth
it. I can say its worth $50 or so. If you dont have any choice go for
it, but dont expect anything but be ready for a lot. Good luck.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

Stayed at this hotel back in May, paid with debit card. On checkout they demanded a tip. Never heard of such a thing.
Then one month later, another charge from the hotel for one nights stay showed up on the card.
Called the hotel to ask about it, they said that they hadn't charged anything.
Called the bank, they said that the money transfer had already gone thru.
Called the hotel back, they said again that they hadn't charged anything. Told them what the bank said, then they said yes they had charged the card becuase a "Dave" had stayed there, and hadn't I made a online reservation for him? Clearly the first two claims of not charging the card were lies. They then refused to give any information about this "Dave".
Its possible that "Dave" stole the card info, but since the hotel lied about it, I am inclined to expect it was someone at the hotel.

  • Disliked — Stole card info.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, north carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2007

My first trip to San Francisco was for a wedding of the college-friend of my husband's (November, 2006). We were lucky to find this hotel as part of a travel package on a travel website that added virtually *nothing* to the cost of flying out there. Needless to say, for a practically free hotel stay, I was quite nervous about what the hotel would be like, especially after checking around & finding some negative reviews.

But we loved the warm, friendly staff, who alerted us the *minute* our bags arrived (the airline had lost them), gave us a wonderful little contienental breakfast, and directed us to where we could find food the first night we arrived. We didn't need this hotel to be the nexus for the trip, we were staying such a short time & just needed a quiet place to crash at the end of the day.

The exterior of the hotel is pleasant & flowering, the neighborhood wasn't all that sketchy, (I like traffic/city noises, they help me sleep) the only drawback I found was that their shuttle service took an excessively long time finding & picking us up at the airport the evening we arrived.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget hotel for a weekend or a short stay.

  • Liked — Free Wifi
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

We were also glad to find a budget hotel very close to SFO. Staff were helpful, a comfortable room, easy to find however, take ear plugs. The hotel is on a very busy road at Traffic lights, 2 blocks from a level crossing and under the flight path. You can play a game and identify whether it's a motorbike, a 747, or train keeping you awake.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Ear plugs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2006

We (me, husband, teenaged daughter) were pleasantly surprised to find an inexpensive motel close to SF airport and public transportation. Yes it is a bit noisy, right under the flight path. And yes it is bare bones, threadbare towels and somewhat worn furnishings. But--if you are on a budget and need a safe, clean place to sleep it is fine.

The van to/from the airport is free. The BART station is an easy walk away, and the CALTRAIN station even closer. You can stay at this hotel and be downtown, or in surrounding areas, very quickly without renting a car. Walking back from either station in the early evening is fine, later at night it might be better to try for a taxi.

The breakfast is pretty limited--packaged pastry and juice--but just down the street a couple of blocks past the CalTrain tracks is the Rolling Pin Donut shop, open early through mid-day--great donuts that make up for the hotel breakfast.

I would stay here again if I was on a budget trip, and did not need a fancy hotel.

  • Liked — convenience to public transportation and budget pricing
  • Disliked — no cereal for breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Inn San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Inn San Francisco Airport

Address: 411 E. San Bruno Ave., San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regency Inn San Francisco Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regency Inn San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Inn San Francisco Airport Hotel San Bruno
Regency San Bruno
Regency San Francisco Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Inn San Francisco Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.