We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good performance for its price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W to your Saves list
Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
GreenLeadersBronze level
istanbul
1 review
“Good performance for its price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for a second time because we liked our first stay.
- The room was very clean, spacious and newly renovated
- Serves breakfast and very good coffee
- The manager and staff were very helpful (they even keeped our bags after checkout)
- Walking distance to Caltrain, which goes to downtown SF for 2,5 $ in 15 minutes
- Free parking

I definitly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a low-price hotel with good value. The downtown hotels are pricy and dirty and you pay for the parking.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    291
    95
    20
    10
See reviews for
164
262
74
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Great value, service, etc if you're in SFO waiting for your next flight. Free shuttle pickup/drop off to/from airport, even if you're not catching your flight but just going to the BART. Free internet. Super friendly helpful staff. We can't rave enough about this place for the $77 p/n price including continental breakfast. Arriving from Australia late afternoon, we were picked up on request, had a quiet comfortable night, went sightseeing in SF the whole next day leaving our luggage in a secure room and were dropped off at SFO for a late night flight to Montreal. Also there's a great little Phillipino family restaurant on the main San Bruno strip just 5 mns walk away, super food and service too.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Township
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I booked this hotel two times for 6/11/2010 and 6/14/2010 stays thru Expedia Best Rate. Subsequently, I found out booking directly thru Super 8 website has a much lower rate.
I have to cancel my reservation with Expedia and went with Super 8 website. Don't book thru Expedia Best Rate

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

As others have said, all the basic are here in good, clean shape, located well (very close to SFO without much noise) and priced very nicely.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel recently it was great, the rooms have just been updated and looks more like a cute boutique hotel than a super 8... The colors are fresh blue and brown, very stylish. The rooms were very spacious with a fridge and microwave, free parking, very comfortable mattress and a great continental breakfast including(cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee, danish, muffins and bagels and cream cheese). The only warning that I have is that you should book online on super8.com before your arrival to save a bit of money because they will sell the same room for more at the front desk. Apart from that i have no problems with it, it was a great place to stay that was close to the airport as well as downtown san francisco and there are a few restaurants and stores nearby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Recently on a trip to visit San Francisco, wanted a quiet location with free parking but not something too far from downtown. This location was great for us, and the hotel was excellent. We were first booked to stay at the Howard Johnson San Bruno, but the HOJO was disgusting. It was plain unacceptable... feel free to check the review I left for them... After staying one night, we visited the Super 8 location, and got rates. The rates were a bit high for what we had budgeted, so we decided to check online. We found the best rate by booking online, so preferably book online to get the best possible rate. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the owner and people at the front desk were excellent. Very pleasant and helpful. Once we arrived at our room, we noticed everything had been renovated, from the carpets to the beds and the bedding. The room even included a fridge and microwave which made it very handy to save a few extra dollars. During my trip I learned the hard way that booking your hotels online based on trip advisor reviews can sometimes be misleading... but this hotel is truly a gem, nicely renovated and I spoke with the owner who said he was soon receiving LCD TV's to match the updated decor. The beds are brand new, and we slept very well on them, and the included continental breakfast was great. The breakfast area was very clean and it was everything a perfect continental breakfast should be. The housekeeping was also excellent, as when we returned to the room it looked as if we just checked in. Couldnt of been happier with this hotel. Please be sure to see the pictures I took!! Even the parking felt alot safer than the dimly lit parking at the HOJO. If you are staying in San Bruno, book this hotel online, and you will be very satisfied with your stay!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

My wife and I used this hotel as a base while exploring San Francisco. We were turning in our rental car a day and a half before departure and wanted a place close to the airport.
This is not a new hotel, neither is it really fancy, but you get a lot of value for your money.
The staff is very helpful, we needed to get a shuttle back after turning in our car at the airport and were given written instructions to call the shuttle.
What we did not know, having never been there before was the quality of the nearby restaurants in the area. We had Mexican, Brazilian and the best Italian I have ever had all within a two block walk. The Italian place is one block over behind the Bank of America, and is well worth the walk. Living in South Florida, we were amazed at the proces for a meal in the area, much lower than the tourist areas here.
If we ever go back to San Francisco we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W

Address: 421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Bruno
#3 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Bruno/Sf Intl Arpt w Hotel San Bruno
Super Eight San Bruno
San Bruno Super Eight
San Bruno Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.