We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W to your Saves list
Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    313
    105
    20
    11
See reviews for
174
280
77
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

'stayed here after driving down from Eureka before catching a plane home the next day. The staff was cheerful, efficient and helpful ! Our room was on the first floor and the window was RIGHT ON El Camino Real. I was overwhelmed by how quiet it was, though. 'Looks like fresh coat of pain has been given to the place and big trendy pictures of SFO added to justify room rates. Everything seemed very clean and simple. We were given the accessible bathroom and the tile showed some interesting wear -- but again, everything was CLEAN. Small coffee maker, fridge and microwave PLUS free wi-fi and parking. "breakfast" was on the light side - nothing to count on in any way. This is all about LOCATION. Shuttle seemed to run well, but we had a car and it's NEVER BEEN SO EASY to get to SFO and return a car in 50+ years - for that we were most grateful. Great variety of great restaurants very close, too! (you can walk and not worry about finding parking!) OH...and the infamous Rolling Pin doughnut shop is on the way to the airport!!!

Room Tip: 'really worried about road noise...ask for room facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8sfo, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for choosing Super 8 in San Bruno and taking the time to write a review. We are glad to know you had a comfortable stay and were satisfied with our service. It is very rewarding to know that our efforts to embellish our rooms were noticeable and to your liking. Thank you again for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Super 8 upon your next visit to the Bay Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A simple hotel that does the job with no fuss. The airport shuttle service is not great; it took forever to pick up at SFO and then made numerous stops at other hotels. If you want a free tour of San Bruno by night this is included in their low price which is why I picked it in the first place.

I really avoid hotels with no place to walk or eat. On that count this does well with several eating spots within a short walk; it might have been a nice place to walk around earlier in the evening when everything was open. The room was nothing special, but also nothing memorably bad which is the most important feature.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel face a residential neighborhood and seemed to be very quiet at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8sfo, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. I am very pleased to know that you liked our hotel based on the proximity to the restaurants.We are always trying to improve our shuttle service,even though it is out sourced we are constantly reminding the shuttle owner about his service.It is an on going process. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at Super 8 during a 9-hour layover at SFO. The motel is super close to the airport which is convenient. However, we were told when we called that the shuttles runs until 2AM. This was not the case and as a result we had to take a cab. The rooms were of a decent size and are somewhat modern compared to their competition. If we were in a similar situation we would stay here again as it was a decent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8sfo, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time and giving us your feedback. We are pleased to know you will stay with us on your future stay. It is also very nice to know that you liked our modern rooms.
I am sorry if we misled you about the time of the shuttle.The last shuttle does end at 12:30 AM.Sorry for any confusion. Thanks again for you kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, visiting San Francisco. We had nice, clean rooms with refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, tv and free WiFi. Also there are nice, large picures of San Francisco in the room. The first night we had a street side room. Busy traffic, but we slept fine thanks to the good isolating windows. The second night we had to move because we didn't have a reservation and "our" room was not free for the second night. The second room was at the quieter backside of the motel. This room was next to the elevator and that was a bit of a problem. Buzzing noise every time the elevator was used, so I had to use earplugs that night. Try to avoid a room next to the elevator! Very friendly staff. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room next to the elevator. Buzzing noise every time the elevator is used. The busy st...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8sfo, General Manager at Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for giving us your valuable time to write a review. We are very pleased that you like our hotel.Thank you for mentioning that the front side of the building is quite as well. We are very sorry we had to put you in a room next to elevator on your second night.. We would love to have you in future.Please do not hesitate to contact us incase you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W

Address: 421 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 (Formerly Cal West Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Bruno
#3 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Bruno/Sf Intl Arpt w Hotel San Bruno
Super Eight San Bruno
San Bruno Super Eight
San Bruno Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 San Bruno / SF Intl Arpt W, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.