We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely worth it to try, if you are not picky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West

Save Saved
You added Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1550 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in San Bruno
Warsaw, NC
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Completely worth it to try, if you are not picky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is just great, in my opinion. As some other reviewers state, there's a whole of buch of amenities you can benefit from. Their airport shuttle works timely and all you need is a call to the front desk so that they have it ready for you within minutes. Their front desk service is real good. Despite our check in was at 3.00 pm, we got there at 11.00 am and these guys helped us keep our baggage in their office safely. Even tough check in was at that time, we got our room an hour and a half earlier with no inconvinience. The room, regardless of its CHEAP PRICE, was just great. Comfortable beds, fresh smell, a small fridge, coffeee, clean bathrooms... everything you need. If I start being picky, there are indeed some things that don't like such as the noise you can hear coming from the other rooms, a weird locked door in-between rooms and people playing with it, etc... I might list a few more, but I'm the kind of person that tries to see the positive aspects out of the bad ones. So for me and my wife that WASN'T a big deal.

Breakfast was always served on time, and you could choose having coffee, cereal and pancakes, pancakes, cereal and coffee or cereal, coffee and pancakes. Yeah! It's always the same, but who cares when it's included and you don't have to worry about spending some bucks for an unhealthy breakfast.

Regarding tranportation to San Francisco, we kind of dealt a little bit with it beacuse we found expensive riding the BART everyday (am I sounding cheap? Yes, I know, that's why I picked this hotel). Rides from and to the BART airport station, the closest to the hotel, are a bit pricy. If you can purchase BART tickets easily, then you won't have any type of trouble. We decided to ride Sam Trans, which becomes a good but rough alternative. There's a route, 391, that can take you to the last stop (some 45 minutes from the hotel, $2 per person-this bus station is just 2 blocks away frrom the hotel). Then you can make connection on the MUNI (unlimited rides if you buy the SF City Pass). This trip turned out to be long (almost an hour and 1/2 one way), but cheap at the same time.

Once in San Francisco ALWAYS consider purchasing the San Francisco City Pass. It's just so worth it. You can ride the MUNI buses, the cable cars everything regarding MUNI unlimited! Also the attractions offered are great (Alcatraz, MOMA, The Exploratorium, The aquarium at Pier 39).

I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anybody planning on visiting San Francisco. My wife and I purchased a hotel-flight package in advance for a real good price, and this hotel is a great alternative for staying, considering you'll be out of it all day long enjoying all the wonders SF offers. We live in NC and found CA way more expensive so you have to take some extra bucks to adjust to it.

Other than that I hope you enjoy your visit and get as excited as we did when we were in SF.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinn12391, Manager at Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your business with us. We really appreciate your precious time that you gave in writing this review and some important information about the transportation system. We are definitely sure that this information would be helpful to our other guests as well. Our main aim is to satisfy the guest's need. Transportation system of San Francisco is really good and affordable, also our airport shuttle services are reliable as well.

Thank you so much once again to share your view towards our hotel and other facilities connected with it. We really appreciated that. Will look forward to see you in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    124
    87
    32
    28
See reviews for
97
92
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This Days Inn is very convenient to SFO airport if you need a quick stopover. While my room was clean enough, there were scuff marks both on the doors in the room and on each and every door to the other rooms. It was obvious that there is no thorough cleaning going on here.

Also, the walls are very thin and the folks next door were talking and laughing into the wee hours. I had to get up at 5 AM for an early flight, so I didn't get very much sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't have an adjoining room. I think the doors between my room and the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daysinn12391, Manager at Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your concern with us, will definitely look in to it. We are so sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel, but we do appreciate your business with us. Will try to fix these problem as soon as possible, and with your kind concern we already started working on it by placing metal plate on the doors and also have instructed to our housekeeper to keep on eye on those matter. Still thank you so much for bringing to our attention. Wish we would meet your expectation next time when you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Burning smell from the heater within 5 mins of turning on, Informed the reception, the guy opened up the windows and said "Heater was not turned on for a long time and hence the smell" and good thing is nothing happened bad after that. TV did not turn on, huge crack on the mirror inside the bathroom. Dont get convinced on the complimentary breakfast, there is nothing to eat actually.

location is near the airport and shuttle service is provided every 1 hr.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I booked this hotel for less than $50 a night and this is what we got:
1. Free airport shuttle to and from the hotel (including when we just needed to get to the airport to then go into the city)
2. A room that was clean and spacious
3. Fats and free internet in the room
4. A continental breakfast which is good. I dont know what people who moan on this site expect from a free breakfast in a room that costs $50 but I had coffee, apple juice, some cereal, a couple of slices of toast, a chocolate muffin, an apple and a freshly made Belgian waffle. I was impressed!
5. Helpful staff at the front desk who suggested ways of getting downtown early in the morning, phoned taxi cabs for us and made sure breakfast was set up a bit earlier so we had time to eat before heading off.

Thanks for our stay and we will be back next week!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed here for a quick nights rest before a 6am flight. Decided to use their free parking and park our rental car for the night and drive to the airport the next morning, so didnt have to figure out their shuttle system. The room itself was large, king-size bed, and coffee machine. Alas, the heat system didnt work though. The night staff was nice enough. I would recommend this place for those who need to be near the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

This hotel smells very clean and the lady who checked us in was lovely. I asked if the hotel bill could be split between two credit cards upon checkout. She assured us it was fine. We paid about $80 for a room with two double beds. It was a decent room with a free bus to the airport, no complaints here.

We went to check out early the next morning, and no one was at the desk, so I rang the bell. I rang it several times and no one came. We decided to call the hotel, and a lady in the next room (within earshot) picked up. We told her we needed to check out and we wanted to split the bill. She, Mary, told us that was not possible. When I told her that I had been told otherwise, she begrudgingly said, "Give me your card." After we paid, she gave us one receipt. I asked for a copy so we both could have one. She gave me a nasty look and started muttering insults under her breath. After tossing me the copy, she walked away, continuing to mutter insults about us.

You're in the hospitality business. Stop being lazy and rude.

If not for Mary, I would have given this 5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked one night via Priceline. The shuttle picked us up at the airport within 15 minutes of our call. Person at the front desk was friendly and we booked for a 5am shuttle back to the airport the next morning. Our room was in the back of the hotel. The room stunk of room deodorizer. Thankfully the window opened and had a screen. Finally the air was breathable. Room was ok, needed a good repainting. Bedsheets had holes in them. Free wifi worked, quiet room. They gave us a muffin and banana to take on the shuttle. I would look for another place next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West

Address: 1550 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Bruno Hotel San Bruno
San Bruno Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn San Francisco International Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.