We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in San Bruno
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“European Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The Villa Montes Hotel is European to the core - from its lobby to the room decor to the elevator music. We stayed 3 nights on our way to Zealand and liked it so much that we booked another two nights on our way back. Each time, we booked a room with two beds - and received a room with two beds. The rooms were large and elegantly furnished with not very functional furniture. The mattresses and bedding are high quality and very comfortable and each bed comes with four pillows. Bedding is European style - a feather comfortable inside a high-quality duvet with no top sheet. If you get warm at night you may want to ask housekeeping for an extra sheet.

The room comes equipped with a refrigerator and microwave hidden in a short armoire, which doubles as a stand for the large flat-screen TV. The lighting was dim, even for a hotel. The bathroom lacked towel bars or hooks, proving the European nature of this hotel. We could have used another luggage rack but made do with the sofa, which was attractive but suitable for comfortable lounging.

The hotel offers complimentary transportation from SFO; call the hotel when you have claimed your luggage and they will send a taxi for you. Both times that we used this service they told us it would take 15-20 minutes but we actually only waited about 5 minutes.

I had my hopes up for the breakfast when I noticed the availability of real plates and dinnerware. But, alas, the breakfast offering was the same tasteless pre-packaged food served at the cheap hotels that use plastic cutlery and styrofoam plates. Do yourself a favor and walk across the street to the IHOP.

In summary, the beds, decor, furnishings and feel of the Villa Montes are usually not found in hotels in this prices range. It is a very comfortable place to stay and a fantastic value.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel overlook a pleasant middle class neighborhood and are a little quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    71
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
59
117
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

I noticed several recent good reviews of this property and they are well deserved. If you are planning a visit to Half Moon Bay and a meal at the Distillery in Moss Beach, this property is minutes away from the coast or the attractions of San Francisco. Inside, the hotel is tastefully appointed. The front desk is faced in colored, metalic tiles, and in the elevator (with music) is accented with the same tiles in the flooring. Seemless decor, and big city style. I'm sure to be back again.
There is not a lot nearby, but some 3 blocks behind the hotel is San Mateo Blvd, "The Avenue" where there is a Starbucks and several eclectic shops and stores that you might find amusing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villages, FL
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

An online search for hotels directed us to this hotel. We were impressed with the reviews and all the amenities which were offered for the price. We were assigned a room which was not overlooking EL Camino Real so it was quiet. Only a couple of things would have made it a bit better and that would have been having a choice of pillows. The ones offered are very firm. A towel bar in the bathroom would be nice and a dresser in which to put some of your clothes would have been great for those staying for more than one night. There is only a small drawer sandwiched between the safe and the microwave oven. The location to the airport, shopping and restaurants makes this hotel a "favorite".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Loved it! Could not believe how nice/fancy it was for the price. They could not have been nicer. I came in at 9PM and was offered a cookie/coffee/glass of wine. The place feels brand new and modern. There is a PC/printer on each floor. The light/fixtures and decor are very modern. In many ways I felt as if I were in a small Las Vegas hotel.
LOVED IT!

This would be a lovely place for a romantic night as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, which we chose because of its proximity to SFO for an early flight. It looks like any of the string of motels on El Camino, but on the interior, the layout is spacious, the decor is almost extravagant, and the rooms are clean and well appointed. AND the price is great. This is a far better value than the large name brand hotels by the airport. Thank you, Tripadvisor reviewers, for leading us to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have been there twice -4 nights in October and 5 nights in November. Both visits involved business travel. The November trip I was able to bring spouse & we had a mini vacation b4 I had to go into the office. The services was exceptional. I had rooms in the back of the hotel, so I never experienced noise, nor did I every hear the neighboors. Probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in for a very reasonable price. We enjoyed the spa area. When I visited alone & ordered pizza in the front desk called & gave me the choice of coming & getting it or them sending up the delivery person. I liked that added sense of security. I just can't say enough good about this hotel.

We found in November that it was a central location to get to the Napa Valley(loved it), close to the BART station so we could take transportation into San Fran. There are restaurants in the area that are walkable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

For the price, this was one of the nicer hotels we have stayed at. We traveled with two young kids and the staff was very helpful, bringing us extra towels, opening the room safe after our daughter had closed it, and setting up breakfast a little early on the morning we had to leave. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the airport (which was very helpful for an early flight) and reasonable price, but we ended up very pleased with the service, the cleanliness and the extra mile everyone went for us. The only thing we could complain about is the somewhat soft mattresses - but that's a personal preference. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;