We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising "boutique motel" near SFO” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in San Bruno
Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Surprising "boutique motel" near SFO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel, which we chose because of its proximity to SFO for an early flight. It looks like any of the string of motels on El Camino, but on the interior, the layout is spacious, the decor is almost extravagant, and the rooms are clean and well appointed. AND the price is great. This is a far better value than the large name brand hotels by the airport. Thank you, Tripadvisor reviewers, for leading us to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    72
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
60
119
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mpls
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Have been there twice -4 nights in October and 5 nights in November. Both visits involved business travel. The November trip I was able to bring spouse & we had a mini vacation b4 I had to go into the office. The services was exceptional. I had rooms in the back of the hotel, so I never experienced noise, nor did I every hear the neighboors. Probably the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in for a very reasonable price. We enjoyed the spa area. When I visited alone & ordered pizza in the front desk called & gave me the choice of coming & getting it or them sending up the delivery person. I liked that added sense of security. I just can't say enough good about this hotel.

We found in November that it was a central location to get to the Napa Valley(loved it), close to the BART station so we could take transportation into San Fran. There are restaurants in the area that are walkable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

For the price, this was one of the nicer hotels we have stayed at. We traveled with two young kids and the staff was very helpful, bringing us extra towels, opening the room safe after our daughter had closed it, and setting up breakfast a little early on the morning we had to leave. We chose the hotel because of its proximity to the airport (which was very helpful for an early flight) and reasonable price, but we ended up very pleased with the service, the cleanliness and the extra mile everyone went for us. The only thing we could complain about is the somewhat soft mattresses - but that's a personal preference. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haddonfield, nj
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My wife, 18 month old son and I stayed on the Peninsula near to SFO at Villa Montes. We rented a car for transportation so getting around was not a problem, but typically we like to use public transportation on our travels. Parking was free and located below the hotel. VM was not that convenient to the BART station (probably about a 20 minute walk through a mildly sketchy area. There is a little downtown shopping street with restaurants about a 5-10 minute walk from VM where we've gotten burritos and Chinese food prior to taking flights from SFO which is convenient. VM offers complimentary breakfast consisting of cold cereals, waffles and breads which were ok. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and the hotel was kept very clean. They also provide complimentary cab service to/from SFO as well. Walls between rooms a little thin- especially the giggling girl and the pounding headboard against the adjoining wall next door at 3 AM several nights but my son paid her back a few times during our stay so that was a wash.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A truly lovely, attractive hotel on a busy strip of El Camino Real in San Bruno, a few miles from San Francisco airport. Comfortable, plush rooms, warm attentive service, complimentary breakfast, fitness center, glass of wine, cookies, coffee or tea. Pool and spa undergoing replacement. Free transportation from and to airport. Extremely reasonable. Said to be a favorite for visitors associated with Google, Facebook. Etc., but for us, just a perfect place to stay over between flights. Lots of nearby restaurants, including Toto's, a mile or so south on El Camino, an unpretentious place that has great pizzas and salads.

Room Tip: Rooms away from El Camino are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights and it was one of the most delightful experiences I've ever had at a hotel. The staff was courteous, the room had every amenity I could hope for, and the building itself was a specious . The complimentary breakfast was well prepared . There was someone at the Marshall House looking out for my needs every step of the way. The Villa Montes Hotel will remain a hotel forever imbedded in my memory.You can find many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a stop-over in SFO and stayed in this hotel for only 1 night. What a gem!!! It truly is a 5 star hotel. I wish we could have stayed longer and used all its amenities. Great value for the price. We will stay there again when we come to San Francisco. The staff is very friendly and you feel totally pampered!
Thank you for a wonderful stay!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel

Address: 620 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bruno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Bruno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Montes
Clarion Collection San Bruno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Montes Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.