We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel San Bernardino

Save Saved
You added The Hotel San Bernardino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Hotel San Bernardino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   285 East Hospitality Lane, San Bernardino, CA 92408-3411 (Formerly Hilton San Bernardino)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in San Bernardino
WA., United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A very nice Hilton, we stayed there to watch the Little League championships held close by and they treated us great. The staff had the lobby decorated with past LL posters and pictures. Breakfasts were huge, friendly staff, free and safe parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    43
    42
    33
    15
See reviews for
52
25
12
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rooms were great housekeeping did a great job, internet access average even by pool. Food service was slow took 1 ½ hour to get order by pool and breakfast was not up to normal standards you expect at Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I unfortunately did not enjoy my stay here and would not recommend this hotel. The hotel room was nice and clean, however my stay overall was inconvenient. I was checked-in to a room already occupied by a family of 4, and days later was informed by my bank that there were two $1000 holds being placed on my CC, when I approached the front desk staff about the holds, I was told that my credit card was not only being held for incidentals on the room I was staying in, but also for the original room I was checked into which was already occupied! When I asked the staff to remove the first hold, I was told they needed approval from a finance manager, however he was out of the office (on a Monday, at 2pm) and would be back Tuesday morning, or I could call him, and was given the managers number.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltonsanbmgmt, Director of Sales at The Hotel San Bernardino, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. As a common practice in our industry, holds are placed for incidentals and refunded to the card if not consumed. I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and we will be sure to reevaluate our current policies to ensure guests are made aware of any extra charges that may be placed on your card. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to discuss your concerns in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is not the best property in the chain, but it is lovely in all ways, and when considering the price it cannot be matched. I'll be at Santa Clara property in a few days and it's one of my favorites, but it will cost 2x or 3x more. The San Bernardino property is well appointed, well staffed, clean, everything needed....and unbelievably cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Attending for little league games. Room was one of a few with no fridge, poor cleaning of bath and vacume. Very small elevators, slow and one shut down most of the week for service. Breakfast was OK, pool was clean. Restaurant kitchen staff was very nice to cut steaks we bought at Costco to cook out in patio for the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Spent 7 nights while in town on business. Couldn't get into the nearby HGI so this was my company's choice. Not as good for a business trip than the HGI. The desk chair was so low as to make using my computer an ordeal. It was adjusted as high as it would go. I asked the front desk if they could find a proper task chair. They couldn't. As others have noted here, the A/C unit is noisy. After a few days, I didn't notice it as much. There were some good points though: The buffet breakfast was pretty good. Parking was plentiful and well-lit. The room was very clean.

It certainly wasn't an awful experience but my San Bernardino expectations are set by the Hilton Garden Inn and this property is not quite as good as that one for business. I'd stay there again if I couldn't get into the HGI and the price was competitive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This property is a little old and dated however it is fairly well maintained. All of the front desk staff is very helpful and accommodating except one. Elevators on the east side of building are extremely small and slow. Request a room on the Hospitality side of the building to avoid road noise from I 10. Air conditioning can be slow to cool and noisy in some rooms. Toilets flush with much difficulty. All rooms I've stated in have a huge gap under the entry door which requires a towel to block out hallway light and noise. Be prepared to pay for Internet if you are not a HHonors member. I find that a little strange in this day and age.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Hotel San Bernardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel San Bernardino

Address: 285 East Hospitality Lane, San Bernardino, CA 92408-3411 (Formerly Hilton San Bernardino)
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel San Bernardino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Bernardino is located on the aptly named Hospitality Lane, due to its convenient freeway access and abundance of great dining options simply the best place to stay and dine in San Bernardino. You won't go hungry (or thirsty!) on-site either with our great breakfast service, restaurant, and bar. Services like free WiFi, free parking, ample meeting space, along with our friendly staff make for an unforgettable stay and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel San Bernardino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Bernardino Hotel San Bernardino
Hilton Hotel San Bernardino
San Bernardino Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel San Bernardino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.