We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Americana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wigwam Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wigwam Motel to your Saves list
Wigwam Motel
2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
VOTE BEST 10 YEARS RUNNIN
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Iowa
1 review
“A Piece of Americana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

If you are a Route 66 fan you should definately put this on your list of things to do. The owner is extremely knowledgable about Route 66 and was very helpful in giving us ideas of things to do in the area. We experienced a very scenic drive to this Motel from Barstow and then he suggested a spot for dinner and a drive in movie.
The rooms were very clean and the property was very well kept.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Kumar is very knowledgeable and will assist in making your stay fun and enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    135
    52
    13
    10
See reviews for
132
205
29
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canyon Lake, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

I'm glad I can still take my kids to a classic, fun motel along Route 66. Kumar and his staff have kept the place in great shape, and are very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 28, 2009
Kumar and his staff were happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay at the Wigwam Motel! It's always fun sleeping in a teepee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My wife and I went here for our 20 th anniversary. We wanted to do something different and that it was. We went mid week and it was guiet in our room. The room was nice size and clean. They have been working on restoring it and have done a nice job. the tile in the bath is very retro and nice. The rooms take you back to a by gone era . No way is this your regular hotel room. It has it's own class.Go expecting something fun and different and you will get it.We drove down route 66 and it was fun. The manager was very helpful and nice. We will be back. It is really nice there at night.

Jerry & Lonni

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
We are HONORED that you chose to stay in our teepee to celebrate your 20th Anniversary! Hope to see you back before your 30th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Two adults and one 14 year old stayed in a wigwam as our last stop on our Route 66 trip before Santa Monica. The place was clean and roomy enough for our needs, it was just a one night stay. Beds were spotless and very comfortable and the owners very friendly. An added bonus was the lovely pool to relax around after a days travelling.Didn't see much within walking distance such as eateries but as we were not there for a long stay it didn't matter to us. We paid $90 (about £55) for one night which is a bit more than we had paid for most of our other motels along the way( except Big Texan) but it is worth it to ensure the Wigwam stays around.
I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us for one night while you traveled on historic Route 66. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

All children deserve to have the experience of staying at the Wigwam! What a fun and memorable time they will have!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
Yes, the children of all ages love to sleep in the teepees! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was the first of our two stops at Wigwam motels. The next night was spent in Holbrook, AZ. The area around the motel is not great, but once inside the clean, comfortable cement rooms, we felt secure. We did bring everything into the room from the car though, just to be sure.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
You stayed at two Wigwam Motels? That is really great! We are very happy to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This was a great fun place to stay. The staff was EXCELLENT, treated us like royalty.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigwamrte66, Owner at Wigwam Motel, responded to this review, September 17, 2009
We loved having you stay at the Wigwam Motel! Our staff enjoyed taking care of your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wigwam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigwam Motel

Address: 2728 W Foothill Blvd, Historic Route 66, San Bernardino, CA 92376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Bernardino
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in San Bernardino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Route 66! One of the few remaining classic motels. This family-fun roadside attraction was built in 1949 and has undergone a renovation phase. The motel offers a complete guest room in a peculiar fashion of actual wigwam units. The motel comprises of all the standard hotel amenities and even includes free Wi-Fi connection! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wigwam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigwam Hotel San Bernardino
Wigwam Motel San Bernardino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wigwam Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.