We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castaway Restaurant

Castaway Restaurant
670 Kendall Drive, San Bernardino, CA 92407
909.881.1502
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Redlands, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A bit special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food and the ambeance are both well worth the drive up the hill. The views are spectacular especially on a clear day and it much like being another world. Far above the city in a quiet and welcoming atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    10
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food and views of the valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great food, good prices and nice views of the valley. The restaurant is secluded on the top of a hill with great views. We have never had any problems or complaints here. The staff is excellent. Looking forward to our next visit.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Been there twice and never a bad meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wonderful atmosphere, good food, love it. So much to choose from. Prices a bit high but worth it. Friendly people

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is one of my Husband & my favorite "special night" restraurants. The service is always good, the food is excellent, but it's the atmosphere that makes it so special. After a comfortable dinner, we always head out to the outdoor patio and enjoy a drink in relative solitude while enjoying the beautiful view of the city lights down below us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Holiday party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is the second year that my local paralegal association has had a holiday party here. This year the room was decorated and set up perfectly. Best of all, the food was hot and delicious. Best pot roast I've ever had! (Wish I had the recipe.)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castaway Restaurant also viewed

San Bernardino, CA
San Bernardino, CA
 

Been to Castaway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castaway Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.