We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicioso!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mexico Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mexico Cafe
892 E Highland Ave, San Bernardino, CA 92404
(909) 882-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 283 Restaurants in San Bernardino
Restaurant details
Pueblo, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicioso!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate here while visiting family in the area. The service was excellent. Our large group was seated immediately and our waitress was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and serving sizes were nice for the price. We were served warm chips and fresh salsa while we waited for our food. Which is always a nice addition with Mexican food. We all enjoyed our meal and would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Favorite for at least 44 Years”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Whenever I go to San Bernardino, I always stop at The Mexico Cafe. My family has always loved it.

In recent years, the restaurant expanded and the original owner retired leaving it t her daughter. Sometimes it is very very good and other times it's just good. Quality seems up and down. With the expansion a few years ago, it's not such a long wait. It's always a good choice for a large group and many do celebrate here. Service is sometimes great and other times not so. Prices have steadily risen and while it's not as good as it was ten years ago, it's still pretty good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Dinner Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Mexican Café has very good authentic Mexican food. Our food was hot, and came in a timely manner. Service was a little slow, but overall very good

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ok lets be honest ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The Mexican food is very Americanized. The mole was full of cinnamon? Service was terrible and the carne asada was so dry. And the guacamole was thinned out for 7 dollars. This is a staple in San Bernardino and sad to say it is not the same. But if you want just a margarita then I say go but for food I would rather go to cuca's in redlands.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Start with a margarita and continue on to any of the many delicious entrees. You can't go wrong. As you take your time deciding..the chips and salsa will get you started.
The staff is exceptional and knowledgeable. They can make recommendations and offer suggestions.
We've never heard any complaints and have been customers for years. Do yourself a favor and give this a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexico Cafe also viewed

 
San Bernardino, CA
 

Been to The Mexico Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mexico Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.