We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Anselmo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Anselmo Inn to your Saves list
San Anselmo Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 San Anselmo B&B and Inns
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
“What a little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited my family in San Anselmo in August 2012 and had the happy experience of staying here. I will definitely stay here again. Swapped recipes. Brekkie included in room price and was yummy. Situated in a very pretty town and lots of things to see and do. One very happy Aussie.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
34
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I live in Santa Rosa which is about 40 miles from San Anselmo. We stayed at the Inn to avoid a late night drive home. We had a lovely room overlooking San Anselmo Ave.. The Inn is very comfortable and it feels like a country home in Italy or France. We had a beautiful "continental breakfast". However I don't think anyone can compete with Patti and her delicious quiche. We had so many choices of fruit and breads, cereals and there was even a basket of oranges from Patti's tree.
I can not recomend this wonderful Inn enough. I grew up in San Anselmo and It is a great way to see the town and it is close to San Francisco and the Wine Country.
I highly recomend the San Anselmo Inn for one night or an extended stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We will be back.

Carol Tabarracci and Steve Johnson

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times and have found it a very fine experience. This time was a reall challenge as my husband and I became sick with an intestinal virus. The staff was so kind to us providing both caring advice (we are from Wash, DC) and services. We recommend SAI highly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

A lovely inn tucked into the center of San Anselmo. We stayed here to be in the vicinity of San Francisco without paying the higher prices in the city. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and had a few extras that would have made staying here a few nights—more than our one--easy and affordable. It had a small kitchen area with microwave, refrigerator and table. But the most outstanding feature of staying here was the complimentary breakfast—fruits, rolls, quiche, cereals, and more. Just outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

SF area was booked up or outrageously priced during our stay. San Anselmo Inn did not jack their rates up but is about an hour from downtown SF during traffic. We were there for wife's minor surgery and this quiet Inn turned out to be just the ticket. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff, but surprised to see tall weeds down the middle of the sidewalk when coming in the back path from the shared parking with a local bank.
Breakfast was very good with three different quiche dishes to choose from and abundant breads and fruits. Fresh baked cookies were great in the afternoon.
The Inn is also situated on a side road filled with eclectic shops and eateries, City Hall, City Library and a pharmacy. Nice for an afternoon/evening stroll.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a shared bathroom. Lower priced though so could be a worthwhile bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Hi to be straight forward, very friendly staff, GREAT breakfast (better then I expected), and I was happy with the price I payed, to be honest I booked through a 3rd party website, so got a lower price, I would recommend calling the hotel directly as you may get a lower price, I was happy with my room a queen with ensuite shower and restroom, personally I would never take a room without its own bathroom,yes no view, but was not there for the view, nice furnishings, I glanced in some more deluxe rooms,, which I would consider if I came back a second time, the town of San Anselmo is very beautiful and nice to walk around but remember it is A small town, at least from the Silicon Valley area I come from, I think if you do not get into the a restaurant by 8pm during the week you may have to drive to Fairfax. That said the manager at the front desk, Arthour if I remember right, recommend a very, very good Mediterranean Style Restaurant with excellent food, wine, and cocktails. I think it was called Santana's, though I forget the name, and is only a five minute walk, also I thought the parking was close at a very close by lot. I would say this is the best place to stay in San Anselmo, and I think the only place. It is a place I would be happy to stay at again when in the area, and again was surprised how good the breakfast was. Also I like the friendliness in this town as some Marin County Towns you may get a stuck up attitude. Also, IF the bar is and restaurant they have is open, it was closed the night I was there... Again slow there on a Monday night, I would recommend their local draft beer from Fairfax, very good, when I travel I always like to try either local wines or craft beers, they have some good ones, remember you are short drive from Sonoma County, which personally has better wines then Napa.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently spent a night at the San Anselmo Inn in Marin County, California. We found it clean, homey and friendly. Our upstairs room #230 had two queen beds and a nice bathroom. No view (was a concrete wall outside the window) but we weren't there for a view. Beds were comfortable and had chairs at the ends for your things. Nice closet. Very quiet inn, like a small hotel. Served breakfast in the morning that was more than the usual continental. Egg dish, pastries, cereal, fruit and nice strong coffee. Inn was right on the main street.

The next day we took a great hike around Bon Tempe Reservoir...about 5 miles. Beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room #230 had an ensuite bathroom. There were baths in the hall, so clarify this issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Anselmo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Anselmo Inn

Address: 339 San Anselmo Ave, San Anselmo, CA 94960
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > San Anselmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Anselmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Anselmo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a historic, turn of the century building, in the quaint and charming town of San Anselmo, our Inn offers the very best in hospitality and personalized service. We provide the comfort and modern amenities that insure your stay in the San Francisco Bay Area will be memorable and satisfying and a generous breakfast buffet is included with your room. While our staff is at your service to plan side trips, tours to the wine country, or other exciting adventures, business travelers will also find the casual, quiet atmosphere and central location ideal for productive work days, and our proximity to great dining within walking distance, the perfect place to relax. Homemade chocolate chip cookies served fresh every afternoon!Free wi-fi and free overnight parking. Try our VALENTI & CO, our new restaurant by Chef Duilio Valenti, born and raised in Milan, who brings to San Anselmo the cuisine inspired by the love of his homeland and the incredible quality of our Northern California wholesome ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your San Anselmo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Anselmo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.