We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING! COMFORTABLE! DELICIOUS! WARM! UNBELIEVABLE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Robin's Nest

Save Saved
You added The Robin's Nest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Robin's Nest
247 W. St. Charles St., P.O.Box 1090, San Andreas, CA 95249-1090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Andreas
Big Bear Lake, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! COMFORTABLE! DELICIOUS! WARM! UNBELIEVABLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

These people are kind, pro veteran, and easy to talk to. The accommodations were absolutely wonderful - in fact, beyond imagination. The decor is warm and the various room styles were exciting to pick from, although every one had so much thought put into them. I stayed in the Ingenue room and fell asleep minus my normal sleeping pill and did not wake up until morning. A sip of port and a cookie from the parlor table sure didn't hurt for a night cap.

Bill cooked this gourmet breakfast that was to die for! And gourmet is no exaggeration! He has gathered a vast experience in culture and fine tuned even how he cooks eggs! A strawberry-banana soup (puree, I think) was a surprisingly delicious and welcome appetizer and his French toast... he'd be happy to tell you how he makes them. Something about adding apricot juice and crunched corn flakes, if I got that right.

There is a spa and even a large screen in the gorgeous yard where they hold outdoor concerts and movie showings. The included Wi-Fi comes in handy. We drove up the next morning to the Black Chasm Caverns for a worthwhile tour.

We found them in the AAA guidebook for Northern California and, though it shows the minimum at $100 a night, there are actually options as low as $85, as of our stay. Give them a call![----] http://www.robinest.com/ [----]

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
We couldn't ask for a better review from a professional travel writer. Wow! This kind of appreciation makes all the effort worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed a weekend for a nearby family reunion. The innkeepers, Bill and Karen go above the call for breakfast. Check out their web site for pic's of a typical breakfast. We had sausage and eggs with grilled tomatoes and french toast along with fresh fruit and fruit soup and cheese cake to finish it off.
The B&B is a lovely historic victorian in a nice setting of gardens, lawns, trees and patios/decks. It is on a gentle hillside with parking uphill from the house with maybe a dozen steps (gradual, not steep) so keep it in mind if you like or need level.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Family reunions are great as everyone already knows one another which adds to the "family" atmosphere we strive for. Thanks for pointing out the fact that we're located on a hill (as is the entire town) and there are steps from the parking area to the entrance. Yes the steps are wide & shallow, but there are actually 15 stairs down from the parking are and 5 steps up to the main entrance. Not ideal for the mobility challenged but we have accomodated guests in wheelchairs on more than one occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I took my parents to see the elephants at PAWS, and was so delighted to have gotten rooms at the Robin's nest, as they go fast since it is the premiere Inn to stay at while visiting PAWS. The owners Karen and Bill are so cordial and warm. The Robin's nest had all the charm of it's Victorian past. We were in heaven with the famous breakfast Bill and Karen whip up! I can't wait to go back! Get my room ready!

Karen Bonadio

  • Liked — The charm of this historic property , the friendliness of the owners and the great breakfast.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
PAWS and the owners Pat & Ed have become one of our biggest referers of customers which is fitting as we both love animals, especially Elephants (Karen) and Tigers (Bill). The enthusiasm of visitors to Paws is infectious so we look forward to Paws events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

I stayed in the Gardenia Room in connection with PAWS in June 2008. Extremely nice owners, a comfortable bed, shower to die for and very, very quiet -- even with the other rooms on the Main Floor occupied. The breakfast that everyone raves about is spot on the best breakfast you've ever had at a B&B. My room was a nice size, but if I was with someone else, I would ask for the Carousel or Mariner Room on the upper floor. Those are larger rooms and two people could really spread out in them.

Yes, I would stay there again and again.

  • Liked — Breakfast - hands down
  • Disliked — I can't find fault in anything.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for pointing out our success in keeping the place quiet even for the main floor rooms. Fortunately there is sufficient room in the Inn and property overall that we can relocate socializing guests to alternate areas away from other guests that might be catching a nap or retiring early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

100 year old Victorian with 17 foot ceilings in the main house make this a stunning place. We stayed in the carousel room which is filled with carousel horses and toy carousels and is located in the attic. NICE soaking tub and very comfortable stay.

Bill and Karen are a great couple and will give you lots of information about the surrounding areas. The breakfast was great but the other food selections in the area are very limited so expect to drive a bit to find your food choices. If you want a real personal adventure, head down to the local supermarket (Treats) and get some BBQ for the outdoor BBQ and have at it! We grabbed some marinated chicken, peaches and a baguette and went to use the BBQ and we were in heaven.

Internet access is provided by Wi-fi and is very quick.

They have an extensive yard with a very nice outdoor bbq/kitchen that is yours to use if you feel like it. The area has lots of sights to see because this is “Gold Country” so you won't run out of things and places to see. Many wineries in the area and lots of historic towns and buildings everywhere. Stay a few days and remember to bring your camera.

  • Liked — Wonderful old building
  • Disliked — Local food/restaurants are scarce
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you. Yes, the town is limited in terms of upscale places to dine which is one of the reasons we built the outdoor kitchen center. It's important to note that even thought the better restaurants are 10 or more miles away, there is NO TRAFFIC so you can get there in under 15 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Robin's Nest for 5 nights and we feel incredibly lucky to find this jewel in the hills of California. Karen and Bill are the owners and their friendliness and caring attitude added to the enjoyment of our stay. The property is well-maintained with beautiful landscaping and a large redwood deck where I would relax during the day and utilize their wireless internet access. There was a healthy GOURMET breakfast served every morning that was fit for a king and different every morning. We barbecued in the evening at their brick outdoor kitchen which was most convenient. The interior was exquisite with great attention to detail in every part of the home. We had a comfortable bed, spotless and well-maintained bedroom with a shower/tiolet, TV and phone. The rates are incredibly reasonable and I would heartedly recommend the Robin's Nest for those travelers who enjoy the comforts of a B&B.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for taking advantage of our amenities and taking the time to review us. By placing the Access Point on the upper level of the Inn we managed to provide wireless coverage to the entire property. What a change from less than 10 years ago when we had difficulty getting a dial-up connection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

The breakfast was absolutely delicious, the bed very comfortable and the room delightful. I will return to the Robin's Nest.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oh-No-Meester-Bill, Owner at The Robin's Nest, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks. Comfortable BED, good BREAKFAST & a promise to return tells us we're doing something right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Robin's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Robin's Nest

Address: 247 W. St. Charles St., P.O.Box 1090, San Andreas, CA 95249-1090
Location: United States > California > San Andreas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Andreas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upgraded Victorian mansion with 9 guests rooms located on 1.3 acres of gardens. All rooms have private bathroom, shower, TV, Telephone. Some rooms have bathtub and/or fireplace. Cost of room includes plated gourmet breakfast. Our redwood deck includes a 100 inch outdoor surround sound theatre on which we play live concerts. We have over 100 concert DVDs and customers can also bring their own. Large off-road parking area with room for trailers & RVs. San Andreas is a quiet "sleepy hollow" town centrally located to tourist destinations including Wineries, Gold-Mining attractions, Caverns, Lakes, Redwoods, Golf, Antiques etc. connected by some of the best Motorcyling roads in America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Robin's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Robin`s Nest Hotel San Andreas
Robins Nest San Andreas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Robin's Nest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.