We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if it's what you are looking for....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penny Farthing Tavern, The - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Penny Farthing Tavern, The
9 E San Luis St, Salinas, CA 93901-3413
831-422-5652
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“OK if it's what you are looking for....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were looking for someone to grab a meal later in the evening as a lot of places Salinas close early. We called the place to double check and the person who answered said that they serve up until midnight. When we went, it was a Weds. evening. I heard music which sounded terrible to discover on the board out front that it was Karaoke night (not really what I wanted). Since it was one of the few places open, I would have grin and bear it. When we went inside, the speakers were turned up extremely high...much too loud for even a live music or karaoke venue to the point that everyone I was with had ear pain (especially when someone hit a off-key high note). The food, we never got to try. Apparently, they stop serving "real food" 10PM and serve only bar snacks until midnight. Something that we were not informed of on the phone and quite irritated that we had wasted our time. We were pleased to leave. since we was not in the mood to be in a noisy pub with karaoke and a younger crowd of 20 some things.
*Good place to be if you are into noisy young crowd pub scene. BTW, they do not know how to make a lemonade shandy...I found that rather odd that it is an English pub that had no idea of what we were talking about. Not good for what we were looking for at the time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spreckels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“British Style In Old Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoy the local talent featured on live music nights! The Penny has seen its ups and downs, but it is still a fun place for a drink and some pub food. The fish and chips are fairly good, and they have a large variety of beers on tap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect endup for a hearty stroll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I had the best Rueben sandwhich I can remember here today. The Harp Ale was sublime. Main Street Salinas is a treasure trove with this place at the end of the rainbow.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Used to be a great British pub!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Well, it USED to be a great British pub. It seems they have improved the menu to include Pot Pie and a few other British items, but tacos?? I am sorry, when I go to a BRITISH pub, I want to see what I would see in England! (Maybe they serve tacos at the pubs in England now?) I miss the bangers and mash, didn't see that on the menu last time I was there. Since it was bought 2 years ago, it just doesn't have the "feel" of the old Penny. I got good service. It still looks the same as it did. They do have a hot pastrami sandwhich I want to try! :) So, I would go back, the food IS good, I do think it could be better,though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Been coming here every once in a while. Great selection on tap and good food. Happy hour prices very reasonable and good service. Don't expect your food to be speedy but expect good quality. Try the Californian Burger.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penny Farthing Tavern, The also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penny Farthing Tavern, The, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.