We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS! Stay away!! 39 bites!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area to your Saves list
Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   140 Kern Street, US 101/El Camino Real at Market Street, Salinas, CA 93901   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Clovis, California
1 review
“BED BUGS! Stay away!! 39 bites!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Disgusting I saw pest removal equipment and asked one of the maids if it was for bed bugs she indicated it was but I was assured they were isolated, isolated thru out the entire motel, they even had the audacity to tell me a 3rd party had verified no bugs in my room that 214 and 114 were the only problem 9 bites later I call front desk irate at just past mid night and demand to be changed rooms she said they were sold out and couldn't take me to new room I had to throw away my luggage and doubt I will see reimbursement I have the county looking into it now

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    9
    9
    12
See reviews for
6
7
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This place is terrible.

There was a dirty towel stuffed between the mattress and the box spring, as well as packaging for some kind of lubricant (or the lubricant itself - I did not investigate too closely), lots of hairs, etc. Seriously disgusting!

Immediately after checking in, I went to talk to the lady at the front desk. We were four and there was only three big towels in the room (not counting the dirty one we found under the mattress, obviously). She immediately gave me more towels. I told her about what we found under the mattress and asked her to confirm that the room had been cleaned prior to our arrival. She assured me it had been cleaned but I seriously doubt it.

The carpet was gross and the television had some kind of sticky substance on it.

Also, we did not have to use the heater or the AC, but what looked like an AC/heating unit was in very poor shape. There were also cigarette burns on the blankets.

After notifying the front desk of the issue, we went out to eat. When we returned, the room had not been cleaned!

We were exhausted from our trip and had to go to bed. Considering how dirty the room was, me and my boyfriend decided against taking a shower. We also slept fully clothed (socks, jeans, sweater, and hoodies on).

When we checked out in the morning, I told the person at the front desk that even though I notified the motel staff of how dirty the room was, they did not send housekeeping to clean it up. She did not apologize.

PS: I am currently trying to get a refund for the $69 I paid for the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

THe location of this hotel is not the best place to bring kids. Very unsafe! If you are travelling alone just be cautious..I understand the purpose...staying cheap but If i can find somewhere else than Salinas that has cheap rooms I will go in a hearbeat. It just happen that there was a big race at the Laguna Seca and almost all hotels are booked.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Found gun clips with bullets between sheets and blanket safe to say they didn't change the sheets... I'm glad one of my two young kids didn't run across the gun clips first... I took it as a sign the town was not a good place to travel through with children

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for only one night with some friends on a weekend diving trip in Monterey. The room was quite clean, including the beds and the bathrooms. The room is basically just beds and a TV. I realize it's a pretty cheap motel, but I hoped there would be at least a microwave. The beds weren't that comfortable but it was only one night so it worked. The walls are thin, but luckily there was a family with well-behaved kids on the other side of the wall.

It's pretty isolated, but if you have a car, it's short but confusing drive into Salinas for some authentic and tasty Mexican food. The main advantage of this motel is it's cheap price for the proximity to Monterey. It's a place to stay, don't expect anything more than that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's really cheap (less than 20 $ per person) but the room and the bathromm were quite old and need renovation. The room had a bad smell and the key doesn't work very well. The location is quite isolated and it's difficult to find a place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

It's by far one of the most horrible places to stay. It's not exactly cheap, because for the price it should be way better. They never have ice! Wifi is not always good. Night ladies always knocking at your doors, making noise. When you want room service they always want to do it at their own inconvenient time, and who are we kidding? Do they call that room service? Rooms are always filthy, they smell horrible! I could go on and on.. oh, definitely not a friendly hotel, not even the desk clerks, or the manager.

Room Tip: Scavenger hunt, good luck in finding a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area

Address: 140 Kern Street, US 101/El Camino Real at Market Street, Salinas, CA 93901
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area Hotel Salinas
Salinas Motel 6
Salinas Motel Six
Motel Six Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Salinas North - Monterey Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.