We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Laurel Inn Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Laurel Inn Motel to your Saves list
Laurel Inn Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   801 West Laurel Drive, Salinas, CA 93906   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good for motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Must mention the kind and attentive staff at the desk. Very clean for a motel style hotel in this area in our experience. Big draw - the Black Bear restaurant next door!
Downside - we did move for similarly price deals at chain hotels in area with more upscale accommodations. But we have paid fullprice fro Laurel, So if you get a prepaid or discount, it may be a great buy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay here at the Laurel Inn. Meeting and exceeding our customers’ expectations is our ultimate goal. Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn and we look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    113
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
51
79
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised to find this little motel to be so clean and comfy! It was quiet and convenient to the freeway and a diner . The breakfast was perfect for traveling !
The surrounding beach towns were way over priced! We made it to Santa Cruz in 35 minutes

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Laurel Inn is centrally located with easy access to all the fantastic points of interest within Monterey County. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I don't usually stay anywhere less than a 3 star hotel, so I was a bit worried about this one. I needed one night for work, but took my husband daughter along with me. Since I had my husband, I went ahead and booked this place. It's not much to look at, but it was actually a pretty nice stay! The hotel service was excellent, even for a busy Saturday night. The room was pretty dated, but very spacious and super clean. The beds were a little rough (those old spring beds), but we were so tired it didn't matter too much. Even for a packed hotel, it wasn't overly noisy. The parking was tight be nothing to complain about. So if you're looking for a good value for this area, this would be it. I see it rates number 3 behind the Holiday Inn Express. I have stayed there too, and it's exactly what you would expect for them. But this place was in a better area and at a much better rate. We did not try the breakfast as we at at the Black Bear Diner. And yes, the pool was still closed. I think the sign said it would be closed for 3 months and that was posted in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay! The entire staff works diligently to meet and exceed the expectations of every guest. We want your experience to be pleasant and positive. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Right off the expressway, convient. Rooms were nice and beds comfortable. Swimming pool still under construction, but not a big deal. Breakfast was free and staff very attentive. Would stay again. One Caviate is tour busses stop here so breakfast can be a little crowded before they leave

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn on your recent visit to Salinas. I am glad to see that your stay was pleasant. The breakfast room can be a popular place! The Black Bear Diner is also a great dining option. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in April for 3 nights while visiting relatives. This was at least or 3rd or 4th stay at this motel. The pool was closed, due to construction, was too cold to swim anyway. Our room was nothing fancy, but was indeed comfortable and the price was right. We did have a coffee pot, small refrigerator and wi-fi access at no charge. In the
AM there is continental breakfast and is better than at others we;ve had. We did not have white bedding as some people indicate in their personal pictures, the bedspreads are in need of changeOther than that, the room was the same. But our overall stay was nice. Anyone who wants restaurant dining, the Black Bear Diner is just across from the motel's pool in the same parking lot, very good food.
The staff is also accomodating. The area is probably not the best, but it's close to the Northridge shopping mall, and other spots of interest. A short drive to the Steinbeck museum. You'll also be near WalMart and other stores as well as car dealerships. You'll be close to the freeway but no freeway noise. I recommend this property for a short stay.

Room Tip: 117, not far from breakfast room. A king with plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. The entire staff works diligently to ensure your stay is positive. We greatly appreciate your repeat business and look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Not a bad place to stay. Rooms are comfortable and nice. The area itself is not that great. The pool of the hotel was closed and the fridge of the room didn't work but the stayed itself was nice? Very affordable and cozy. Will definitely stay again here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Laurel Inn on your recent visit to Salinas. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business and look forward to your future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Made a reservation. Nothing mentioned about pool and spa under construction until late summer 2014. No reduction in price I was told. Given a room directly overlooking construction mess. Then given another room. We would have left if we weren't so tired. The overhead lights were strong spotlights. There were no table or wall lamps. Breakfast room and food was a bit above average for motels.
Tip: The Brewing Company, next to Awakenings (the Number one restaurant in Salinas), served excellent home brew and the best prime rib dinner I have ever had.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel_Inn801, Guest Relations Manager at Laurel Inn Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is important. I apologize for your unsatisfactory experience. The pool closure is an inconvenience that unfortunately could not be avoided. I did reconfirm that in fact the details of the closure are posted on all of our online booking agents. I have also retrained the staff in regards to making all of our guests aware of the closure. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Laurel Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laurel Inn Motel

Address: 801 West Laurel Drive, Salinas, CA 93906
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Laurel Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spanish exterior - 1 mi to city center, 1 mi to major shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Laurel Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Hotel Salinas
Laurel Motel Salinas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laurel Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.