We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and accomidating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Awakenings

First Awakenings
171 Main St, Salinas, CA 93901-3403
831-784-1125
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 252 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious and accomidating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The biscuits and gravy were delicious, as was my wife's turkey dill egg thing. The server was extremely helpful when managing my kids' odd requests. "Mickey pancakes with no Mickey." "No problem!". The food was great, but our server is what made this such a memorable place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    44
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After visiting the National Steinbeck Center, we had lunch at First Awakenings, not too sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly service and the freshness of the food. We ordered burgers which were tasty, cooked just right and served with a very nice salad. Nice!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and Consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

You can always count on good food. Eat breatfast often with spouse. Great attitude from am waitress. Lunch often with friend. We can get in and out on our lunch hour easily

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best eggs Benedict”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful restaurant. excellent food and the service cannot be beat. Have it your way is their motto and they stand by it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great oldtown place for breakfast and lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Located in a beautiful brick building in oldtown Salinas. Wonderful, hearty breakfasts and tasty lunches. Large portions are served. The staff is friendly and very interested in serving its customers. Locally owned and a Salinas favorite for years. Conveniently located down the block from the Mayan Theaters and the National Steinbeck Center.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Awakenings also viewed

 

Been to First Awakenings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Awakenings, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.