We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Is Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ikebana Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ikebana Japanese Restaurant
1315 N Main St, Salinas, CA 93906-2828
831-449-5151
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 285 Restaurants in Salinas
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This Place Is Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I like to sit at the bar when we eat here. The portions are excellent. The Staff is friendly and informative. The quality of sushi is really good. The service is quick and accurate, and accommodating - my child is a picky eater & they were very willing to alter their recipes to make the experience more palatable for my kid.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wide variety of specialty rolls. Very good tumpura.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I loved the cherry blossum roll and several other specialty rolls. Very good tempura vegetables. Yakitori was tasty. I liked the hot tea, it had good flavor. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi of all time - I love this place !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

my family loves to meet at this restaurant and have our favorite rolls. The variety is great and there are always unique specials. We have never had anything but excellent food and drink here at very reasonable rates. You can't go wrong !

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Texas Hold'em rolls are the best!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

I LOVE ikebana's japanese restaurant! The ambience is great, the staff are really nice (especially if eating at the sushi bar). I usually order the lunch box meal because dinner is too expensive there.

The texas holdem rolls are my absolute favorite (even though they are not authentic japanese rolls).

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Not true Japanese food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Ikebana Japanese Restaurant is not a true Japanese restaurant. I have lived and eaten in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Japan over the last 70 years. Some examples - the miso soup is lacking in flavor (missing the proper soup base), the rice for the sushi was too dry (fell apart upon handling) and too sweet, the sashimi raw fish pieces were tiny (teaspoon size), the nabeyaki udon lacked the proper ingredients and served in a conventional bowl (not a metal or ceramic pot). And any true Japanese restaurant does not include Korean dishes in the menu. It would be more accurate to advertise this (outside sign) as a Japanese - Korean restaurant.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ikebana Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ikebana Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ikebana Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.