We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salinas City BBQ

Salinas City BBQ
700 W. Market Street, Salinas, CA 93901
(831) 758-2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 285 Restaurants in Salinas
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We've been here numerous times, and love their pulled pork, ribs, and steaks. They have a great spicy BBQ sauce on the table as well. Even the salads are good, very fresh. Only 4 stars because they are a little pricy, and portions are small to average.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When we pass through Salinas its always a treat to stop in for some ribs. They are the best near Monterey. Although we have not dined in the restaurant it looks cozy, and they seem to have a lot of craft beer.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A little 'hole in the wall' joint that was a BIG surprise. Well priced and delicious. From the Johnny Cash music pumping out, to the checked table cloths and melt in the mouth rib sandwich, this Aussie had an authentic American experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
“very excellent BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

I placed an order of pulled pork(regular size), strips of steaks(large size), BBQ beans, potato salad, coleslaw, salad, and one mixed berry cobbler. Everything was so good. I couldn't stopped eating. Especially, the pork was so tender and very well seasoned. For me, from the sides, coleslaw was the best. The salad was not outstanding though. nothing special. I loved the cobbler. After having BBQ, the sweet dessert was such a joy to me. highly recommend it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California
1 review
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Best BBQ in town maybe in the area! Delicious BBQ sauce. I had a Pull Pork Sandwich that was amazing. It really shows the craft the pit master has making excellent and consistent food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salinas City BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Salinas City BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salinas City BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.