We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Salinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Salinas to your Saves list
Residence Inn Salinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay. Rooms are spacious, fully stocked and well maintained. The staff were outstanding and could not have offered more help. Always ready with a smile and a greeting it was a pleasure to return each evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Residence Inn Salinas, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Rainbowjourney,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very pleased that find our hotel and our staff to be accommodating and friendly. We will look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    58
    24
    9
    2
See reviews for
63
42
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel is about 25 minutes from Monterey and is located adjacent to quite a few options for shopping and eating. I am normally a Hilton user but when the Monterey location had such poor reviews I switched to Marriott. This was a fine place to stay. Our room had 3 separate rooms with a kitchen and a working gas fireplace. It was in the 50s last night so that fireplace came in handy. There is a TV in each room and that comes in handy with our kids. There are two bathrooms, also a must have with 3 girls in our party :-) Beds were adequate and the property is well maintained. The breakfast is good although the layout doesn't lend itself to crowds and it was somewhat busy when we got down there. We ended up taking our food back to the room. The property is pet friendly and while that is a good thing, we had a cat just a few doors down and the litter box smell permeated the hall but luckily not our room. The heating unit is located just outside one of the rooms and when it kicks on, you hear it so the person who is least bothered by that should probably stay in that room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4 weekend while visiting Monterey and Carmel. Since we were a large group, we didn't want to pay the price of several rooms at a hotel in Monterey. This is one of the nicer Residence Inns, and is very convenient to Monterey, or when traveling on 101.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Just visited this hotel and was so impressed with it. Located in a nice lean area. The staff was awesome. We were greeted by Lucy who was informative and very helpful. This was our first time in Salinas. We really appreciated her assistance. We arrived early so she was kind enough to call us when our room was ready. The room was clean and spacious. When we were going to head out for the evening we realized our door didn't lock. Fortunately we check whenever we leave the room. A couple gals came to our room with the master key and was able to reset it. A great reminder to Always check the door behind you. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Residence Inn in Salinas CA is a nice hotel. The room was large, clean, and the A/C worked well. The bed was comfy. The free breakfast was actually quite good. There was a great variety of foods. Eggs, potatoes, sausage, toast, oatmeal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, and juice. The eggs and oatmeal were actually really good. The location is decent for traveling to Monterey and Carmel with both being less than a half hour away. The town of Salinas itself has lots of food and shopping options. Overall if your travels take you to the Monterey area and you don't want to pay the insane rates to be downtown there, stay here and drive. I recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were bone weary after taking a late night crowded shuttle to Monterey CA when our flight was cancelled. The friendly greeting at the front desk bolstered our spirits a bit. Much to our surprise and delight we were upgraded to a suite. Breakfast the next morning was pleasant and filling, and the dining area was peaceful (no kids running around). The next evening we enjoyed hot soup and Caesar salad at the manager's reception, then retired to our room where we watched a movie in front of the gas fire place (yup, it's the Central Coast of California and it's nippy enough to enjoy a fire even in early June). Check out was smooth the next day...Lucy at the front desk was terrific. The room was clean (marred only by a stain on the carpet from a previous guest). Unlike many hotels closer to the coast, this property was significantly less expensive yet it was easy to get where we needed to go. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is nice if you want to see Monterey while not spending too much money on your hotel. Even though the hotel is not new, the rooms are equipped just as well as newly-built Residence Inns and are spacious and clean. The hotel is family friendly and the service is very good. The location is not beautiful but that is probably the reason why prices are still reasonable. We stayed there on for three nights to check out Monterey and the surroundings. Two nights would probably do it as well. There is no restaurant at the hotel (but they offer complimentary breakfast) but there are fast food restaurants including Applebee's within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salinas

Address: 17215 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salinas 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Residence Inn. Located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, the Residence Inn by Marriott Salinas Monterey is your home away from home. Residence Inn by Marriott has perfected the extended-stay experience by combining all the comforts of home with our passion for making every guest feel welcome. Our suites offer separate living and sleeping areas with fully equipped kitchens. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Fresh Express, Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Taylor Farms. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, the 17-Mile Drive and Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salinas Hotel Salinas
Salinas Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Salinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.