We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for Marriott” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17225 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Oklahoma City
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Average for Marriott”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Nothing overly special at this property. was average at best compared to other Marriott properties. Priced high because of its location. insufficient parking. Bistro restaurant in the lobby has a limited overpriced menu.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Richard S,


Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry that we are only at the Average level of your expectations, it is our goal to be "THE BEST OF THE BEST". I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    40
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
31
35
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, TN, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Booked a room here because of the excessive cost of rooms in Monterrey. After driving to Monterrey we are very happy we stayed at the Salinas Courtyard. It is in a very clean & quiet location, about 1 block off US 101, with very little street traffic. (Much preferable to hotel locations we observed in Monterrey) Lots & lots of nearby shopping including a Walmart about 2 miles away and another about 3 miles away, a Costco and many other stores where we generally shop. Even an IHOP directly across the street and many other good restaurants nearby.

Room was reasonably spacious, with a couch and fridge, although the bathroom was a bit cramped. Nicely appointed and extremely quiet. Very nice lounge area off the lobby. Staff was very helpful and congenial. First day there the desk attendant (did not get his name) printed excellent "back door" directions to get to Monterrey, avoiding busy US 101 & inconvenient CA 68.

It was also one of the lowest priced of the eight motels we stayed at in our 18 day tour of Northern California. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Makes the room feel much larger even if it is too cold & windy t...
See more room tips
Green Features: Reuse of the towels and sheets is not stressed here as we found in some other locations.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear DanandMax,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. All our staff was so pleased to read your comments, our whole team is really proud of our hotel and pride themselves on their customer service levels and it is always rewarding to see our guests recognizing this. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Upon arrival I learned this location is behind a Walmart, which could be convenient, but there are also homeless people in the parking lot. It seems to be a rough neighborhood. The check in was quick, polite, and friendly. The rooms are clean and well appointed. They have adjoining rooms, but you cannot leave the door open between the rooms due to lack of space. The linens are awful and feel like sandpaper. I may go to Walmart to buy better quality towels! Additionally walls are so slim I hear hallway and road way noises over regular tv volume.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Kaitlinashley,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for that we did not meet your expectations. We have many travelers that are quite happy about our placement in Salinas and I only wish we were able to meet your expectations.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Warmest Regards,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The room was small and expensive, the bedding was uncomfortable, no continental breakfast, and it was noisy. The bathrooms had very noisy fans. You could hear the fans from either side of our room, the room above, and the two rooms on either side of it. The fans were audible late into the night and from very early morning preventing us from getting any restful sleep.
I noticed management responded to room size and no breakfast complaints by saying you can up grade to a suite or a room deal that includes breakfast. But if the standard room is already not a great value, then you're just adding more to the cost. I'd suggest you pay the extra ten bucks and try the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: I'd ask for the top floor end unit so you won't hear so many noisy bathroom fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
I am sorry that your stay with us was below your or even our own expectation. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention. I am working with my leadership team to make sure that we correct the issues, for your as well as our other guest's who will be staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Shares the driveway with another, upgrade Marriott Brand and that is about it. Good view of Orchard Supply. Abuts single family tracts.

Higher priced, reason unknown.
Nice indoor pool area.
Ample parking.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody O, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
I am sorry that you experienced a stay that was less than satisfactory. I appreciate the feedback so I can take this back to my team and constantly better the hotel.

If i can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I came here with my school for a choir trip and almost everything was awesome! The staff was very kind at check in and was able to get us extra room keys due to the fact that four people were staying in each room. The beds were very comfortable after long days of rehearsals so that was a plus also. The only downside is that the official Marriott website was not updated after they remodeled, so we were given false information about breakfast. We did not find out until the first morning that breakfast was in fact, not provided and that we had to pay an overpriced amount of money for food. Yogurt parfaits were $3 and mediocre french toast was $9. They also had "Starbucks Coffee" served, but it was absolutely terrible. In the end, my choir director just went out and bought breakfast food items for the next morning so that she did not have to keep paying money. If you stay at this hotel you can expect great service and a comfortable atmosphere. However, if you want to eat breakfast in the morning I suggest that you either bring a lot of money or pack your own food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJCarlsen, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Maddie R,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I was delighted to read your review and your very kind comments regarding the facilities and services that we offer, however I do wish we could have met your breakfast expectations.

It is greatly appreciated when our visitors have enjoyed their experience with us, so much so, that they share this experience with us and other reviewers. We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your comments which allow us to confirm that our efforts for the well-being of our guests have been met.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future and we hope that your review will be useful for future travelers.

Sincerely,

DeAnna Carlsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Lots of money for small room no continental breakfast. Rooms basic, average bedding. Very small bathroom area my wife and I could barely even stand in front of the mirror the same time. It's Salinas where else are you going to stay? At least my car was here in the morning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Your comments are appreciated. The Courtyard by Marriott Salinas is designed to meet many different needs of travelers to Salinas. Our Guest room rates give you opportunities to select the price that meets you needs, with the option of adding breakfast in our Bistro or upgrade to a large suite. We have always been a safe, clean and comfortable place of rest, and we encourage you to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey

Address: 17225 El Rancho Way, Salinas, CA 93907
Location: United States > California > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get FREE high-speed Internet access at this Courtyard The Courtyard Salinas Monterey located just 20 minutes from scenic Monterey and Carmel, Courtyard by Marriott - Salinas/Monterey surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make business & pleasure travel equally achievable. Whether you're looking for a practical meeting space to impress your clients or swift access to some of the most famous golf courses on Earth, including Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay, our uniquely central location will be a perfect match. Here, in the heart of the fertile Salinas Valley, you are mere moments from the top agriculture companies in the country, such as Dole, Tanimura & Antle, and Fresh Express. For leisure activities, we enjoy a close partnership with the National Steinbeck Center and its cultural facility, and within moments, you may enjoy the mesmerizing sites and tastes of Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, the Monterey Aquarium & Carmel-by-the-Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salinas Monterey Hotel Salinas
Salinas Courtyard
Salinas Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salinas Monterey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.